Orange Cranberry Scones

Ah, a scone, like a biscuit, but sweeter. To tell you the truth, I am biased. I am from the southern United States and  I can’t think of too many things I cherish more than a homemade buttermilk biscuit.

I have to be honest, my first tasting experience with a scone left much to be desired. I was in a high school home economics class at the time (do they even still have those?) For those of you, who never took one of these classes, you learned various ways to take care of a home and a family in a budget conscious way.

One portion of the class was dedicated to cooking and this dry little hockey puck of a thing emerged from the oven. The small amount of sugar included in the dough was not saving it.  I haven’t had a scone since then, thinking that I just was not a fan.

I didn’t think about it again, until the other day when my husband brought home a blue can of Heinz beanz. I know you are thinking, what do beans have to do with it. Believe me, I was too.

Smiling, he said, “I thought you would like these,” as if a can of beans were a prize.  Me staring blankly. He said, “it’s for breakfast. You put it on toast…” It crept in, I had remembered watching a documentary on the Heinz corporation (yes, I am that nerdy) and seeing this English breakfast item.

I have to admit, beans in the morning does not seem that appealing and in an attempt to stall for “research” time, it quickly jogged my memory of the neglected little scone that I gave up on so many years ago. However, in my research of the scone, I found that scones seemed to be eaten more as a snack than a breakfast item, but to me the scone seems more breakfast-y, so this morning, I am trying again at scones (and saving the beans for another day.)

I had some dried cranberries left over from holiday baking and of course, with it being citrus season around here, I have plenty of oranges laying around, so I added these components to the dough. They came out light and airy, having a beautiful crumb to them. Of course, I smeared them with lemon curd. Yum!

Orange Cranberry Scone
Orange Cranberry Scone

Orange Cranberry Scones

Orange Cranberry Scone
Orange Cranberry Scone

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
  • 1 tsp orange zest, heaping
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2- 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg
  • extra sugar to sprinkle on top

Directions

  1. Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Cut butter into flour using a fork or pastry blender (mixture should resemble coarse meal), then stir in zest and cranberries.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk sour cream and egg until smooth.
  4. Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.)
  5. Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a 6- to 7-inch circle about 1 1/2-inches thick. Sprinkle with remaining 1 tsp. of sugar. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature. These can be frozen unbaked individually and would be a great quick snack for when you have pop over guests. Just increase the baking time to 20-25 minutes.
6 thoughts on “Orange Cranberry Scones

Leave a Reply

