Blueberry Buckle

My husband and I lived in the Midwestern United States for a few years and in this part of the country, comfort food rules. Especially, during the long and brutally cold winters.

I experienced a lot of firsts there. Real snowfall that did not shut down the town. Shocked! Shoveling snow until we realized it was a losing battle and purchasing our own snowthrower. Defeated! Walking outside, hearing and feeling instant ice crystal forming in my nose when it fell below negative degree weather, which was often. Sad! I also learned to drive in all kinds of conditions, be it white outs with drifting snow or torrential sideways rain with an eery green sky backdrop and tornado sirens blaring. Needless to say, very unforgiving weather conditions.

Once I started working, I learned that what that place lacked in weather, was more than taken up by some very interesting characters, full of personality and spunk. Even though I worked for a corporation, it was truly a small town atmosphere where everyone brought in food to share. One winter, a coworker brought in Blueberry Buckle. I had never had this before, but when I tried it, it was so comforting and warm on such a dreary winter day. If you guys need anything to soothe your spirits, this would be a wonderful choice.

Blueberry Buckle

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 12 oz. fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease one 8×8 inch pan. Cream together 3/4 cup sugar, butter, and egg. In a separate bowl mix together 2 cups flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir into sugar mixture, alternating with buttermilk. Stir in blueberries. Pour into greased 8×8 inch pan. To make topping: Combine 1/2 cup sugar, 1/3 cup flour, cinnamon, and butter. Sprinkle over cake batter. Bake at 375 degree F (190 degrees C) for 25-30 minutes.

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckle

  1. I adore recipes that only require the things I normally have in the pantry! This looks beautiful. My mom grew up in the midwest (and I was born there) and she is the comfort food queen! I have a recipe around here somewhere for a nectarine buckle with crystalized ginger… Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

