Pizza Dough

I am a novice bread maker. I would love to know more about it, but I learned the hard way, that I just do not know how to knead yeasted dough by hand properly. Let’s face it, after dedicating your life to a dough, the last thing you want is a dense, unappetizing bread. After accepting my inadequacies, I made a bread machine and a dough hook on my mixer part of my life.

The first dough that I made with the bread machine was a pizza dough. So easy, so good, and pizza dough is so versatile. You can make pizza, calzone, stromboli, breadsticks, focaccia, etc… I am giving you two awesome all-purpose dough recipes that I have followed for years. The first is a traditional dough that you can make in your bread machine, the other is slightly healthier (but still delicious) and can be made in a stand mixer.

Pizza Dough

pizza
pizza

(makes 2 crusts)

1 2/3 cups water, 80 degrees Farenheit

2 TBSP Olive Oil

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp salt

2 TBSP sugar

2 TBSP dry milk

4 1/2 cups bread flour

2 tsp active dry yeast

Place water and lemon juice in pan of breadmachine. Add flour, salt, dry milk, sugar, and yeast. (Try not to add the salt right before the yeast, as salt inhibits the yeast’s expansion.) Select the dough cycle. Once it is done. Shape into a ball and place in greased bowl. Refrigerate over night.

Honey Wheat Pizza Dough

1 tsp yeast

1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp warm water (105-110 degrees)

1 cups bread flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

5 tsp clover honey

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil plus 1 tsp for coating

Dissolve the yeast in the water and set aside for 5 to 10 minutes. In an upright electric mixer, use the mixing paddle attachment. Combine all other ingredients and then combine them with the yeast water. Use two lowest speeds to mix the dough. Mix for 2-3 minutes, until the dough is smooth and elastic.

Lightly oil the dough ball and the interior of a 1-quart glass bowl. Place the dough ball in the bowl and seal the bowl with clear food wrap; seal air tight. Set aside at room temperature (70-80 degrees) to rise until double in bulk; about 1 1/2 to 2 hours.

Punch down the dough, reform a nice round ball and return to the same bowl; cover again with clear food wrap. Place the bowl in the refrigerator over night, covered air tight.

About two hours before you are ready to assemble your pizza, remove the dough from the refrigerator. Use a sharp knife to divide the dough into two equal portions.

Roll the dough’s into round balls on a smooth clean surface; be sure to seal any holes by pinching or rolling.

Place the newly formed dough balls in a glass casserole dish, spaced far enough apart to allow for each to double in size. Seal the top of the dish air-tight with clear food wrap. Set aside at room temperature until the dough balls have doubled in size (about 2 hours). They should be smooth and puffy.

4 thoughts on “Pizza Dough

  1. I don’t have a bread machine :( The honey wheat sounds right up my alley though. That’s if I have enough foresight to decide I want pizza the day before I make it… nevermind. Who am I kidding? I want pizza all the time!

Leave a Reply

