Roasted Chicken Salad with Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing

Growing up on a sustainable farm, you would think that I would have a lot of experience with salads, but I do not. Though I remember having Thousand Island dressing in the refrigerator at all times, that is definitely one of those weird conundrums, because we never used it on anything.

We grew a lot of fruits and vegetables, but lettuce was not one of the many types of produce in our garden. I use garden loosely here, it was a huge plot of land outside of our back door that was in no way a landscaped beautiful vision.

That was the way it was, purpose and function were very important to my parents, so growing any item had to have a dual function; fresh now, canned for later.  Lettuce just didn’t fit within those confines.

It wasn’t until I met my husband, that salads would become part of my regular diet. He loves a good salad with lots of fixins’, so over the years, I have placed these in my repertoire. Mainly, I have learned that I hate bottled dressings. Most of the time, they are too sweet and goopy for my palate. This left me with learning how to make my own in small batches.

The following salad, actually uses two dressings, one for the sweet and sour aspect, the other for the spice and cooling creaminess. For those of you who are into recycling or are just frugal, save your old glass jelly jars and slightly chipped mason jars as they are perfect vessels for homemade dressings.

Roasted Chicken Salad with Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing

Roasted Chicken Salad with Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing
Roasted Chicken Salad with Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing

Balsamic Vinaigrette

Yield: About 1 cups

    3 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar

    2 Tablespoons finely chopped red onion

    1 Tablespoon honey

    1/2 cup olive oil

    salt and freshly ground pepper

Combine the vinegar, onion, and honey in a blender and purée. With the motor running, slowly add the oil until emulsified. Season with salt and pepper.

Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing

Yield: About 1 cup

    2 Tablespoons sour cream

    1/2 cup buttermilk

    1 clove garlic, finely chopped

    1 Tablespoon finely chopped red onion

    1 Tablespoon fresh lime juice

    1 teaspoons cayenne

    salt and freshly ground pepper

Combine the sour cream, buttermilk, garlic, onion, lime juice, and cayenne in a small bowl and season with salt and pepper.

Salad

4 servings

    1 cup leftover roasted chicken

    4 cups mixed greens, washed and dried

    1/4 cup sliced yellow pepper

    1/4 cup sliced red pepper

    1/4 cup scallions, chopped

   Croutons

    1/3 cup Queso Fresco , crumbled

    Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing

    Balsamic Vinaigrette

In a large bowl, lightly toss the greens with the Balsamic Vinaigrette and place on a large platter. Shred the chicken. Arrange the chicken in the center of the platter, resting on the greens. Arrange the peppers, scallions, and croutons around the chicken. Sprinkle with the crumbled queso fresco and drizzle with the Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Chicken Salad with Buttermilk Cayenne Dressing

  1. Buttermilk cayenne dressing! I am so excited. Here’s my question: do you think it would work with my “cheat” buttermilk (adding vinegar to sour my lowfat milk)? I never buy buttermilk. I am so anxious to work out a vegetable garden again this year. Sustainable farm sounds like my dream. Except I can’t kill things (not even spiders).

  2. I know, I hope I get to garden this year. That reminds me that I need to look into some community plots. “Cheat buttermilk” I am not sure about. Buttermilk is thicker than milk, so i would probably add 1-2 additional Tbsp of sour cream to the mixture to help out the texture. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

