Blueberry Studded Citrus Pound Cake

As a girl from the southern region of the United States, there were two recipes that you had to learn. The biscuit and the pound cake. The biscuits were for breaking bread with your family everyday; the pound cake, that was for “society,” be it a grieving family or fifth Sunday dinners at church or a holiday get together of friends, etc…. Your pound cake was as important as your signature, a calling card of sorts.

I can still remember all of the “parents” getting together and discussing their kids. The fretting parents of the older unmarried girls would be consoled by statements like, “Oh, she’s a great cook. Don’t worry, she’ll marry well.” Though they meant no harm with their statements, as a young girl, I remember being very bothered, feeling as if I had no power over my own destiny.

In my feminist art classes, I learned about female artists reclaiming their power through central core imagery.  The point was to celebrate that mark of women’s “otherness,” replacing connotations of inferiority with those of pride, and to create a “new visual language” with which to express women’s experience.

Each of these artists, in her own way, sought to give women’s bodies back to them, to assert a positive female sexuality by claiming her sex. In that tradition, I can not think of a more “female” pound cake than the one with fruit buried within, perfuming the air seductively, with a balance of tart and sweet flavors.

Blueberry Studded Citrus Pound Cake

Blueberry Studded Citrus Pound Cake
Blueberry Studded Citrus Pound Cake

1 stick butter

1 ½ cups sugar

1/2 cup buttermilk

zest of one small orange

1 lemon, zested and juiced

1 ½ cups flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

6 0z. blueberries

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Cream butter, sugar and zest together; add buttermilk and lemon juice. Sift flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt together. Add to creamed mixture, alternating with eggs, one at a time, beating after each. Add vanilla. Stir in blueberries. Pour into greased loaf pan and bake for an hour and 10 minutes. Serves 8 – 10.

 

7 thoughts on “Blueberry Studded Citrus Pound Cake

  1. Love your writing here. The imagery in those last few sentences was serious. I’m just sayin :). I was raised in the south but my parents aren’t from here so I managed to escape all the marry young, marry well society crazy… but now I live right smack in the middle of all of it (deeeeep traditional COUNTRY south… whoa). Sometimes it’s mind boggling (for me anyway). Props on the poundcake recipe, and the biscuits– my boyfriends grandma puts my every biscuit attempt to shame!

    1. Yeah, there really isn’t any other place like the deep back country south. There are a lot of beautifully preserved traditions that I appreciate too. That is just one of those instances that I don’t agree. Thanks for the props.

  2. I love your narrative, as well as your recipes, and my only tiniest word of advice would be to put more spaces in your paragraphs.

    Sadly, people today have short attention spans. I find I have more readers by writing shorter paragraphs and putting in more white space. Fewer people have the attention span to read large blocks of type.

    The good news is that it’s a style thing, not a content thing. Your content and your thoughts are a lot of fun. I’m a fan :-)

Leave a Reply

