Breakfast Burritos

My husband went to a prestigious private school in the Midwestern part of the United States and every morning before class he would stop into the cafeteria for a breakfast burrito. At the time when he told me this, I giggled thinking of the convenience food available to me in the state school that I attended.

Let’s see, I had the choice of… wait, who am I kidding, I was never up early enough to make it to breakfast in the cafeteria. I was lucky to not being wearing flannel pajama bottoms in my first class of the day.

It wasn’t until I visited his campus with the spiraling Gothic architecture and the incredibly maintained walking paths that I started to imagine what it must have been like to attend school there. Yes, I think I may have gotten up early enough to take a lovely walk over to my Hogwarts-esque cafeteria to have a a tasty meal prepared for me. At any rate, these delicious breakfast burritos are one of my husband’s favorite ways to start a day and are also a great use of leftovers from taco night.

Breakfast Burritos

Breakfast Burrito
Breakfast Burrito

(makes two servings)

5 slices of bacon, cooked, reserve 1 tbsp bacon drippings

1 tbsp onion, minced

1 tbsp bell pepper, cut into small cubes

5 eggs, whisked

1/3 cup shredded cheese, (I used queso fresco)

Salt and pepper to taste

2 flour tortillas

Avocado

Sour Cream

Salsa

In a small skillet heat up the bacon fat on medium to high heat. Once all the fat has turned clear, add onion and bell pepper. Sautee for 4-5 minutes or until onion gets brown edges. In a small bowl whisk eggs with salt and pepper. Lower heat heat to medium. Add eggs and let sit for a few seconds until bottom of eggs thicken. Gently move the bottom to center so that more eggs will cook. The key is when the eggs are still a little under done (whites are white, but still wet) add the cheese. Mix the cheese in and when it has melted the eggs are done. Remove from heat. Heat tortillas in microwave for about 20 seconds. Spread a thin layer of sour cream all the way to the edge. Sprinkle bacon, avocado and eggs down the center of the tortilla. Tuck sides in and wrap tightly. Serve with salsa on the side. Serve immediately.

6 thoughts on “Breakfast Burritos

  1. Love breakfasr burritos! I always stuff them with black beans and turkey sausage, but I think I will try it this way next go round cause bacon, avacado, and me are good pals. Huevos rancheros was actually on my list of things to post in the next week or so!

Leave a Reply

