Homemade Taco Shells

Homemade taco shells taste so much better than the ones you buy in those prepackaged dinners and they are easy to make to boot. The only thing that could possibly make these taste better is if I made the corn tortillas by hand and I promise one day, I will learn how to make real corn tortillas. I even have a tortilla press that I picked up at a garage sale, for just such a day. Until then, these taco shells will more than suffice.

Homemade Taco Shells

Taco Shells
Taco Shells
  • prepared corn tortilla
  • oil (for frying)

Heat oil over medium heat in a skillet. Carefully add half of the tortilla (folded into a taco shape) and fry until golden (you will need to hold up the tortilla half the entire time.) Using tongs, carefully flip the tortilla to fry the other side until golden (continue holding the free edge to maintain the shape). Remove from skillet and balance the shell (Teepee style) on a paper towel. Repeat. After they are all set, you can pile on the taco goods and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Homemade Taco Shells

  1. Sometimes I make my homemade shells flat and then pile stuff on top. Tostada? Taco Salad? Whatever. It’s just good and feels fancy. I have never made my own corn tortillas though. That sounds brave. I’ll look forward to when you work that out :)

Leave a Reply

