Cuban Chicken

I have been practicing yoga for three years now and I am still in the beginner classes, but life is about the journey. I have to accept where I am at and trust that one day, the beginner classes will seem easy to me and I will know when it is time to move on.  Anyway, today in yoga class, my instructor brought up the idea of complimentary contradictions.

In yoga, for example, we have to put our bodies through positions that may seem contradictory, in order to get freer and more open. I guess you could apply that way of thinking to all parts of life, such as last night, when I returned home from the grocery store starving. These are my weak moments when I want some fatty deliciousness, instead I fed myself something more complimentary to our new goal of practicing moderation. This flavorful chicken is great baked in the oven and when grilled, it is a crowd pleaser. A perfect accompaniment with Mexican Tomato Rice.

Cuban Chicken

Cuban Chicken with Mexican Rice
Cuban Chicken with Mexican Rice

4 chicken breasts

1 lemon or lime

2 oranges

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp minced onion

1 tbsp oregano

1 tbsp smoked paprika

Salt and pepper to taste

Marinate chicken over night in juice from lime and oranges, and garlic. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a mortar and pestal grind cumin, onion, oregano, paprika, salt, pepper. Oil the skin of the chicken and sprinkle the spices evenly.  Lay chicken on a  jelly roll pan. Cook 45 minutes or until they reach internal temperature of 170 degrees. Serve with Mexican Tomato Rice.

12 thoughts on “Cuban Chicken

  1. I work it out with my Yoga for Dummies dvd… it’s all about the Sun Salute. I dream of the day I can move on to Yoga for Non-Dummies. Sigh…
    I am totally on board with Cuban chicken! I wonder if there are plantains in the-middle-of-nowhere, NC. Hmmm… food for thought.

Leave a Reply

