Lemon Lime Pineapple Sherbert

Growing up in a small little town in the deep south of the U.S., we had one air conditioner, a window unit, that ran only under dire circumstances. During those hot, humid summers, I can remember hearing the jingle of an ice cream truck two streets over like a siren’s song calling out to me.  Excitedly, I would drop whatever I was doing and rush into the house, diving into couch cushions to find spare change. Rejoicing when sweet, sweet victory was mine.

All of the children in the neighborhood met together running behind the truck. Out of breath, sweating, we all mulled over our choices. What would it be today, a sandwich, a cone, something dipped on a stick…. Normally, I emerged with a push up pop and would devour it on the way home, ridding myself of the evidence before I got there.

My brother was older than me, but he would have still whined, protesting the rest of the day about how unfair his life was and either I would have had to share or feel guilty. He never quite got the “you snooze, you lose” concept. When I tasted the following recipe, it took me back home,  back to the hot black top burning my feet on the slow walk back home enjoying my guilty pleasure during a rare moment all to myself.

Lemon Lime Pineapple Sherbert

Lemon Lime Pineapple Sherbert
Lemon Lime Pineapple Sherbert

2 cups fresh pineapple

1 lime, zested and juiced

1 lemon, juiced

1 cup buttermilk

1 (14 oz. ) can sweetened condensed milk

2/3 cup sugar (or to taste)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp lemon extract

Directions:

In a food processor, place pineapple and process until smooth. Add lime zest and juice, lemon juice, sweetened condensed milk, and sugar. Pulse until well combined. Add buttermilk, vanilla extract and lemon extract. Pulse until well combined.

Ice cream maker: Pour into chamber and process according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer sherbert to a freezer-safe container and freeze for at-least 1 hour to firm up before serving.

Without ice cream maker: Pour into a 9 x 13 pan or 8 x 8 metal or glass pan. ( It takes about twice as long to freeze the same amount of liquid in an 8 x 8 pan as a 9 x 13.)  Stir the mixture with a whisk. Do so every 20 minutes for these recipes in a 9 x 13 pan, and every 40 minutes in an 8 x 8 pan. (As the mixture gets closer to freezing, regular attention becomes more important because the freezing process speeds up.) When the mixture is at the slush point (80 to 90 percent frozen) change from a whisk to a fork for stirring.

13 thoughts on “Lemon Lime Pineapple Sherbert

  1. Oh ice cream truck. And oh how I miss the black top burning my bare feet! I’m sure when it’s 100 degrees and the humidity is 1000% percent I will change my mind, but right now it sounds dreamy! We sit out on the porch and make homemade ice cream all summer long and sometimes we use a recipe close to this one, but it also calls for Orange Crush. :)

  2. Good on you – making sorbet – frist I didn’t understand what sherbert was. It”s what we over the water call sorbet. Messy business in my book. Be proud of yourself.
    Will give you a great tip for lemon sorbet – just martini glasses … take a little lemon juice around the egde of the glasses and dip in caster sugar. Scop up the lemon sorbet and pour some Absolut Vodka over it. Garnish with lemon zest and a crisp mint leaf.Specially gentlemen like this dessert and so simply. Buy my sorbet to get it bit firmer. Will get my ice

      1. Thanks. It was my first attempt using pineapple. I have a killer recipe for mango sorbet that I will have to make when it is mango season here. I will definitely try the lemon suggestion sometime. We have some really awesome meyer lemons around here that would make for a great sorbet.

  3. Wish you good luck your sorbet’s … remember if you are going to give the sorbert some vodka it has to be firm otherwise it will be mush.Mad about ice cream, but sorbert and me don’t get along that well. Envy over all the fantastic fruit you have on your door step.We have nothing local for months to come.

Leave a Reply

