Kitchen Sink Frittata

I am learning a new concept, at least new to me, through practicing yoga. Really it is a way of life, a state of being, waxing and waning with the tide, taking what life throws at me and going with it. Now I haven’t always been that way, no sir-ee. We all know life can throw a lot at us, sometimes even the kitchen sink, literally.

In my late twenties, my husband and I journey to the midwestern part of the U.S. pretty soon thereafter, we buy an old fixer upper Victorian. Want to talk about a money pit?! In the beginning, everything seemed to break or some issue would come up and it would turn into a big issue that took a lot of effort and time to fix. We would look at ourselves at the end of the night, covered in plaster dust and random paint splashes, exhausted, and regretting our decision. For almost a year our projects were in limbo, but then one project got finished and then another and another.

What made it happen? Accepting that for better or worse, we made the decision to buy this house with no prior knowledge of construction or renovation, no one forced us to make that decision. We no longer felt like victims. We accepted that we were on a road that we chose. Either we could be passengers and let things happen to us or we could be drivers and  we could happen to life. Sure, as with all chances to gain more knowledge and hone skills, there are growing pains. Through it all, we learned to laugh and work together. In the end we finished the house and it was beautiful, but we left with so much more. We became a team.

For me, I can now live in a world of chaos and commotion, even occasional hurt and disappointment and it doesn’t dissolve my state of being, because I know I will weather that storm and make it out a more interesting, well-rounded person. I can appreciate the little accomplishments instead of focusing on how far I have yet to go. As with all things in life, you need to build a strong foundation. Really I think you can apply that concept to all areas of life, even cooking.

There are certain recipes that I keep in my arsenal, but they are not recipes at all, such as this frittata. The recipe is more of a concept that you can edge this way or that way depending on your mood or what is available in the refrigerator, as long as you have strong foundational recipe. Remember the wax and wane, people! All you need to keep in mind is the milk and egg ratio, then you can add whatever your heart desires. For me, this week it was the following items and it was delicious, of course, because it is full of items that I love and appreciate. Be creative and enjoy your own!

Kitchen Sink Frittata

Kitchen Sink Frittata
Kitchen Sink Frittata

6 eggs

2 tbsp milk

salt and pepper to taste

1/3 cup cheddar

1/3 cup parmigiana reggiano

1/2 cup zucchini

1 cup asparagus, chopped into 1/4 inch pieces

1/2 cup tomato, cubed

1 cup onion, diced

1/2 cup red bell pepper, diced

1 cup ham, diced

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

Preheat oven to broil setting.

In medium size bowl, using a fork, blend together eggs, milk, cheddar, pepper, and salt. Heat 12-inch non-stick, oven safe saute pan over medium high heat. Add butter and oil to pan and melt. Add onion and saute 2 to 3 minutes. Add bell pepper, saute for another 2-3 minutes. Add asparagus and ham to pan and saute for 2 to 3 minutes. Add zucchini and tomatoes, saute 1-2 minutes. Pour egg mixture into pan and stir with rubber spatula. Cook for 4 to 5 minutes or until the egg mixture has set on the bottom and begins to set up on top. Sprinkle with parmigiano reggiano.

Place pan into oven and broil for 3 to 4 minutes, until lightly browned and fluffy. Remove from pan and cut into 6 servings. Serve immediately.

8 thoughts on “Kitchen Sink Frittata

  1. Like the dish VERY much …. the sentence: “we could happen to life” – think it’s a combination of what is really happening to us – that is somehow is out our control and – and then what we decided to do it – turn it something we have control over. For me it’s was the cancer – God, that was total out of my control and it’s suppose to only happen to others. Somehow during the 7 weeks treatment, got chemo and radio therapy on the same time. (We don’t hang around in Sweden *smile) – made myself to be there for other’s patients, to survive myself. So it’s so true what you said here. There is nothing brave about being sick with cancer – the options are poor – do it or die. You’re wise as an owl.

    1. First off, I want to acknowledge your bravery through such a scary scenario and I am so glad you are here today to share your life with us. Life sure can throw a lot of things at us, a lot that we didn’t ask for or want, but the only thing we can control is our reaction to those things.

  2. I second all of the above. And once again it’s good timing. I’ve been feeling a bit homesick lately and have to choose how to respond to those feelings. Mope around or appreciate the what’s happening right now, how great my life is and know I’ve made choices and they were good ones and carry on Garth!
    I’m on board with that in the kitchen too. Like life sometimes you have to assess what’s around/on hand and make it beautiful and tasty.

Leave a Reply

