Basil Balsamic Vinaigrette

When I was newly married, I worked in the kitchen of a small cafe as a second job during the touristy summer season.  I loved my job, loved going to work everyday. There were four of us back there. The dishwasher, me (the prep chef), the sous chef and THE chef.

It was a pretty informal job. My boss man, THE chef, was a retired pianist, a Juilliard  graduate, who on occasion and on a whim would grab a lyre to pluck out medieval tunes to entertain his guests. This part of his nature made him understanding that I could have gone to art school and also love cooking food. I found out a few years ago, that unfortunately, the cafe was defunct.

One of the cool things about working in a professional kitchen was learning different flavor profiles that I had never been exposed to before. I also started to understand that fat didn’t have to be present to make something taste good. The following recipe is not an exact version, but an approximated version, scaled down to a reasonable size, of my favorite salad dressing from those days of listening to classical music LOUD in the back of a hot little kitchen while chop, chop, chopping my life away. Technically, it is not a true vinaigrette, in that it doesn’t have an oil component, but that also makes it less caloric. It is so simple and so flavorful, it is a must try.

Basil Balsamic Vinaigrette

 Basil Balsamic Vinaigrette
Baby Greens Salad topped with Ham, Eggs, Veggies and Basil Balsamic Vinaigrette

¼ cup Basil, Chopped

1/3 cup Brown Sugar

1 cup Balsamic Vinegar

2 Garlic cloves, minced

Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl.

17 thoughts on “Basil Balsamic Vinaigrette

      1. No worries!

        If you’ve not found them already I have a couple of yummy recipes for red onion and rosemary confiturra and piccalilli on my blog. I make massive batches all at once because my sister loves the confiturra and my Mum is addicted to the piccalilli and refuses to buy it from shops ever again!

  1. I didn’t know much about salad – until I came to Canada and US – then I understood what salads should look like. Always use sugar in my dressings too, doesn’t matter what dressing I’m making. – plus a bit of water. This look like a salad I will enjoy!

  2. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.com and commented:

    I LOVE this recipe, but that is NOT why I am reblogging this post. My reason for reblogging this post is to introduce my readers, all 17 of them….to a wonderful blog I just stumbled upon,,,”Creative Noshing” . I don’t know her name but I do know the owner of this incredible blog is a she. Check out “Creative Noshing”.

Leave a Reply

