Skillet Fried Breakfast Potatoes

My yoga teacher is pretty inspirational, she is constantly trying to beat positive thinking into our heads with her little “isms” that she throws out during an intense pose. I like it because I need the positive reinforcement to keep me at it. Of course, I show up to get rejuvenated, but most of the time I leave enlightened.

This last class, two of her statements stuck out to me that I thought was pretty cool. In the beginning of class after basic stretches, we normally go through a couple of sun salutations. On that particular morning, it was pretty overcast and she said, “Remember guys, you may not see it, but the sun is shining behind the clouds.” It made me smile, because it was an updated version of my mother’s “And this too shall pass…” It is true, each storm in our life will move on and the sun will shine again.

Then as we were all transitioning from ringing out our organs with pigeon poses, she said, “A diamond is just a piece of coal that handled stress really, really well.” Isn’t that a nice sentiment, that something so ordinary could turn into something much desired, but it requires pressure and stress to transform itself. I guess, next time I feel pressure and stress, I should say, “Bring it!” Of course, ringing out the organs is a little harder when you are practicing Fat Tuesday and I definitely needed words of encouragement to keep me motivated.

Yesterday, to start off Fat Tuesday (a.k.a. Day of Gluttony), I had one of our favorites, skillet fried potatoes topped with an over easy egg. It was delicious, but I would not suggest doing floor exercises right after consuming.

Skillet Fried Breakfast Potatoes

Serves 4

Skillet Fried Breakfast Potatoes
Skillet Fried Breakfast Potatoes topped with a Fried Egg Over Easy

2 large potatoes, peeled and diced into 1/4 inch cubes

4 slices bacon, cooked and reserving fat

1 small onion, diced

1/2 a bell pepper, diced

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Fried eggs (optional)

In a medium sized bowl add the potatoes. Add about 2-3 tablespoons water. Wrap bowl in plastic wrap and microwave for about 4 minutes. Meanwhile add reserved bacon grease and about 1 tablespoon olive oil to a 12 inch skillet. Over medium heat, saute onions and bell peppers for about 5-7 minutes. Add cooked potatoes to skillet, mixing well. Pat evenly across pan and season with salt and pepper. Cook for 4 minutes without stirring to start browning potatoes. Flip and repeat about four more times. The potatoes will be noticeably brown. Take off heat, crumble bacon on top. Plate and top with fried egg. Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Skillet Fried Breakfast Potatoes

  1. For the the breakfast is the most important meal of the day – always put a bit of afford into and I love a cooked breakfast. This will go down well .. with my overnight guests.

  2. Why did I miss this post yesterday??? It’s happy. I can’t eat ANYTHING before doing yoga. Even if all I’ve had is coffee, as soon as I flip into any kind of inversion I can hear it sloshing around in my belly. But I would skip yoga for a fried egg I think.

Leave a Reply

