Maple Pecan Granola

Back to moderation, I decided to make granola for this week to sprinkle on top of yogurt or grab handfuls when I get my aggravating sweet tooth. I  have made crunchy granola a few times, but it was never as crunchy as some of the bags that I would buy in the market. While I enjoy the purchased granola, I want to know how to make it myself. In the past, my homemade granola ranged between chewy to slice the roof of your mouth open.

The other day in the market, I picked up a package of granola that I enjoy and inspected it like a specimen. Then I discovered the difference—they used puffed rice mixed in with rolled oats. The clouds parted, the sun shone down…. Well, not exactly, but I went home and made a very nutritious granola. By far the best that I have ever tasted, even better than my beloved store-bought brand.

Maple Pecan Granola

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 cups old fashioned oats

2 cups puffed rice

1/2 cup sesame seeds, white

1 cup pecans, chopped

1/4 cup wheat germ

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 + 1/8 cup brown sugar

1/4 + 1/8 cup maple syrup

1/4 + 1/8 cup vegetable oil

1 cup dried fruit (optional)

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine everything but the maple syrup and vegetable oil. Stir to distribute ingredients evenly.

Add maple syrup and oil. Stir to combine well and pour onto 2 sheet pans. Cook for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes to achieve an even color.

Remove from oven and transfer into a large bowl. Add dried fruit and mix until evenly distributed.

24 thoughts on “Maple Pecan Granola

  1. Like the look of this …. and I like crumble stuff on my “filmjölk” – yoghurt Swedish style. Can see you add salt – there are very few sweet products that are so rich on salt as our bought in cereals. Got a shock when I read on one of the packages in my corner shop. Scary stuff really and we are afraid of the sugar in them ????!!!
    Have a great weekend.

  2. This looks good. We like our meusli but sometimes I miss real crunchy granola. Like this one… not slice the roof of your mouth kind (that was funny). I have to be careful cause my handfuls become frequent large fist -fulls. I like your pics. wt

  3. Yum. Love homemade granola. Random question on sesame seeds: they are called for in lots of granola recipes and the only sesame seeds I have in my pantry are the little bitty containers that you find with the seasoning (raw). Nowhere near half a cup and actually pretty expensive. Am I missing some key clue about how to buy sesame seeds? I would REALLY love your input. Thanks!

    1. I get most of my bulk spices from Penzeys. Way more economical and the product is good. That is just my preference. There are lots of Penzeys stores around too if you want to visit and sniff around.

      1. Thanks! I am sure there isn’t one here (because we don’t even have Target and this is a dry county… I think we live in the stone ages…), but I’d bet they have an online resource. I’m gonna check on that asap. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

