Asian Chicken Salad with Red Chile Peanut Dressing

One of my favorite composed salad recipes is one that I adapted from Bobby Flay. It is crunchy and refreshing with all the sweet, sour and spicy components rounded out by the earthy flavor component of peanut butter. I give my chicken an extra little kick of flavor with an easy marinade.  A nice healthy addition to any meal rotation during the week.

Asian Chicken Salad with Red Chile Peanut Dressing

Adapted from Bobby Flay

Asian Chicken Salad with Red Chile Peanut Dressing
Asian Chicken Salad with Red Chile Peanut Dressing

Chicken

  • 2 tablespoons sambal oelek
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • black sesame seeds
  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Red Chile Peanut Dressing

  • 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh ginger
  • 2 teaspoons chipotle pepper puree
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

Salad

  • 1/2 head Napa Cabbage, chopped
  • 1/2 head lettuce, chopped
  • 2 carrots, shredded
  • 1/4 pound snow peas, julienned
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced green onion
  • lemon or limes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Coat chicken in sambal, soy sauce and sesame seeds. Bake on jelly roll pan for 45 minutes – 1 hour.

Whisk together the vinegar, peanut butter, ginger, chipotle pepper puree, soy sauce, honey, sesame oil, and canola oil in a medium bowl. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Combine cabbage, lettuce, carrots, snow peas, cilantro, and green onion in a large bowl. Add the dressing and toss to combine.

Transfer to a serving platter and top with the shredded chicken. Garnish with lemon or lime halves.

24 thoughts on “Asian Chicken Salad with Red Chile Peanut Dressing

    1. Oh shoot! The full name is sambal oelek. I am so used to using shorthand here at my house…It is a chili paste that normally has a rooster on the logo. If I dont have that I also use sriracha hot chili sauce. Thanks for the question. I will update my recipe with this information.

  1. This is something for the girls and me …. didn’t know what Napa Cabbage was – thanks for the net – it’s what we call “Chinese cabbage” – also chipotle pepper is new to me … what i understand is it a dried or smoked ??? It’s so ???? Love all the ingredients and I’m a big salad lover.

    1. Chipotles are dried and smoked. It comes in many different forms. I keep powder on hand, as well as, a can of chipotles in adobo sauce. Either version would be fine in this recipe.

      1. Have to go out on town and see if I can find it over here … like all the ingredients in this dish – fresh and full of flavours, loads of crispiness. Thank you so much!

    1. Glad to hear you will try. The dressing definitely takes the salad to a different level with that smoky chipotle hanging out with a sidekick of ginger peanut sauce. It is a happy fusion!

  2. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I could not pass this one up. I’ve made this for years, and this recipe saves me the trouble of typing out my recipe…..besides “CreativeNoshing” does it perfectly. Stop by the blog: “CreativeNoshing” and check out their many delicious recipes.

  3. We made this last night and it was amazing. We followed the recipe exactly, except we added some chopped peanuts to the top of the salad. Ellie wanted to practically drink the dressing. I used my immersion blender to emulsify the dressing and it was super easy. Thanks for giving me another way to get my child to eat her vegetables!

Leave a Reply

