Poke Cake: A Birthday Celebration

On a fateful day, two cars sped in the darkness of the early morning hours over the state line and to the closest hospital. Both were unaware of the other.  And so the fun began, around 3:30 am my cousin was born. When the doctor came in to deliver me, my mother asked, “has the the other  baby been born yet?” He answered, “Yes, I just finished delivering that one.” Promptly she asked, “Was it a girl?” “Yes.” She laid back and said, “Good, I don’t have to work so hard then.” 45 minutes later, I was born and my Dad and my Uncle  had fun swapping the phone back and forth to announce our birth. So it was to be that our family would get to celebrate the birth of “twin cousins.”

Knowing my family, the small hospital halls were filled with wafting cigarette smoke while people were walking in and out of the hospital rooms socializing and celebrating. Probably even passing me and my cousin around to every family member prepared to dote on us. As you can imagine, it got confusing for the hospital staff. In the midst of all the chaos, a nurse gave me to my Aunt instead and my cousin to my mother (switched at birth, you might say). We were quickly identified and given back to our mothers.

To be continued….

What would be more appropriate than a proper children’s birthday cake for such an occasion?

Poke Cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Take 2 cups boiling water, 1 tub (8 oz.) Whipped Topping, thawed, 1 box cake mix, 2 box flavored gelatin

Place 2 baked 9-inch round cake layers, top side up, each in clean 9-inch round cake pan. Pierce cakes with large fork at 1/2-inch intervals.

Stir boiling water into 2 package. (4-serving size each) Gelatin in medium bowl at least 2 min. until completely dissolved. Carefully pour gelatin evenly over cake layers. Refrigerate 3 hours.

Spread with whipped topping. Enjoy!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Poke Cake: A Birthday Celebration

  1. looking forward to part 2 … of the cousins story. The cake – have to have loads of cream on my cakes …. Cakes like they have in Germany. This with gelatine in some kind artificial cream … I rest my case. *smile

Leave a Reply

