Chocolate Grooms Cake

While the aroma of chocolate cake filled the reception hall, my cousin, my mom, and I buzzed around the tables making last minute adjustments to raffia and candle holders. Tomorrow was the big day. Traditionally, a southern bride gives her husband a grooms cake as a gift at their reception and I would be no different. Believe me, you don’t want to cause any sort of bad PR in a small southern town! It was delicious and I heard that people said that my grooms cake was better than the actual wedding cake. Just sayin’….

The next day, the heavy smell of hair product and hot curling iron sits heavy in the back of the throats of anyone in my hotel room. My family has come together to celebrate my wedding in my hometown. In the corner of the room, my cousin is busy “doin’ hair” under the haze of the dim green glow of a cheap fluorescent fixture. Before the big event, a steady stream of female family members sit in our makeshift salon to get styled. My cousin would have always been my natural choice as a maid of honor no matter what, but it has always made me proud that I had such an amazing person to fulfill that role. I could rattle off a laundry list of things that she did for my wedding. There is no denying that she’s awesome, but the truth of the matter is that the most important thing that she did for me that weekend was keep me calm in the storm.

The recipe that I used for my groom’s cake can be found on the Hershey’s site for the Perfectly Chocolate Chocolate Cake.

Chocolate Cake
Chocolate Cake
11 thoughts on “Chocolate Grooms Cake

  1. Anything with chocolate … is good enough for me to eat. There is a quote saying – if there is no chocolate in heaven – I’m not going. *smile
    Feel a bit sorry for the groom – that gets a cake .. I’m sure he rather want a couple of cold beers. *smile

Leave a Reply

