Coconut Macaroons

We sent my cousin off today. It was the end of the visit and though I was a little sad, it was so nice to have this time together. She is pregnant with her third child, so I know it will be a little while before she will be venturing out on her own again.

The wonderful thing about my cousin and I, is that we were raised so close that I can sit in the room and be at complete peace. I don’t have to guess what she is thinking. I think sometimes, this is what twins must feel like, knowing by the tiniest body movement what sort of mood she is in or what she is thinking. After a day of watching me and her together, my husband asked if we were in a fight because it was so quiet and we didn’t seem to be communicating. I got kinda upset that he would question this. I didn’t feel like we weren’t communicating and was aware that we were perfectly fine. I had to understand that as an outsider, he wouldn’t understand that we were communicating without verbalizing.

Of course, me and my cousin haven’t always seen eye to eye on every thing. As teenagers, we probably got into it at least once a week. Sometimes it felt like we fought more than we were friends, but no matter how many silly fights we’ve gotten into over the years, we were instilled with a great importance that we care for one another and keep our friendship alive no matter how far apart life takes us.

Last year, I visited my cousin in New England and it was the first time that I had seen her in quite awhile. In that amount of time our lives had changed a lot. However when we were together, we could pick up right where we left off. Deep down we will always be the two giggling girls of our youth punch drunk from sleep deprivation, but our relationship had grown into one of appreciation and gratitude, instead of one of devoted protection and security.

What I didn’t expect was how amazing it was to see the little precious faces of her children whose familiar expressions reminded me so much of my family members, some still here and some long gone. I hope she passes those same sentiments to her children that our mothers gave to us. Most importantly, to never take each other for granted, because we were given such a great gift, an opportunity for friendship that is so rare in this lifetime. I can honestly say that without our constant friendship, I am not sure what sort of person I would have turned out to be. To my oldest and dearest friend, I love you and I wish you every good tiding this world has to offer! You deserve it.

What is the best way to send someone off other than a hug? I’ll take a page out of our grandmother’s book and stuff your pockets with cookies. This was a new addition to the holiday basket last year that got rave reviews. I will definitely be adding it for years to come. Toasted on the outside and creamy on the inside. These would be perfect for an addition to an Easter get together.

Coconut Macaroons

Coconut Macaroons

Coconut Macaroons

 

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 5 1/2 cups flaked coconut
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • splash of lemon extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, coconut and salt (easier to use hands). In a smaller bowl, stir together the sweetened condensed milk and extracts. Mix the condensed milk into the coconut mixture. Use a cookie scoop to drop dough onto the prepared cookie sheets.
  3. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, until coconut is toasted.

 

15 thoughts on “Coconut Macaroons

  1. i never knew macaroons were so easy to make. i will have to try these seeing as i already have all the ingredients. it’s wonderful you have such a close relationship with your cousin.

  2. Those, me like very much and I can even make them *smile
    Really enjoyed reading about your relationship to your cousin and looking forward to here more. Understand that you had a great time together and just as you wrote – it’s really rare that we have somebody we understand even when we don’t talk. One of my best friends and me are like that. – and we met over internet dating, about that there will be a post soon. Fantastic story really. So I understand exactly what you mean.

  3. I love macaroons. I will forward your recipe to my wife, she makes great cookies, and get her to add these to her cookie list the next time she makes cookies.

Leave a Reply

