Russian Dressing

Like many of you, we have leftover corned beef from yesterday. Today I am “making do” with my leftovers and creating a beautiful sandwich with the meat, but first we need a sauce. In the little cafe kitchen that I worked in years ago, I spent most of my days as a prep chef cutting up fruits and vegetables and making dressings. One sauce, of course, was Thousand Island dressing that was basically made in a vat of mayo, ketchup, sweet pickles and a few herbs and voila—Thousand Island.  Then my husband introduced me to corned beef and the Reuben sandwich which was topped with a dressing called Russian Dressing. To me, it tasted very similar to Thousand Island, but my hubbie swore it was different. “Not as sweet with more kick to it,” he claims. I started with my basic recipe and started making changes over the years. First I tried to add horseradish when I was notified of my husband’s horseradish aversion, then I changed out the ketchup to chili sauce to give it a little extra kick, it wasn’t enough kick. Then I ran across an Emeril Lagasse recipe for Russian Dressing with hot sauce in it. After tweaking it a bit, hubbie gives it two thumbs up to add to our non-traditional Reuben (made with corned beef, ciabbatta, Swiss cheese, and Russian dressing)!

Russian Dressing 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup chili sauce

2 tsp sour cream

1 Tbsp onion diced

1 Tbsp kosher dill pickle diced

1/2 tsp dry mustard

chopped parsley

splash hot sauce

splash Worcestershire

splash lemon juice

Sugar and salt to taste

 

In a medium bowl, mix together above ingredients.

11 thoughts on “Russian Dressing

  1. No picture showing for me – could be my PC .. it has been a bit funny lately. Think it has a bug. I really like the sound of that sandwich and I could do with one just now. Have bought lamb for dinner, but now I can’t really be bothered. One of your sandwiches will do me fine just now. Love Reuben’s too. I think there is thousands versions of Thousand Island – Marie Rose – Russian … just like with the Caesar. Wonder if anyone really know the original recipes anymore – if they are to be find.

  2. This looks like a great recipe. I’ve been using my Lemon-Horseradish sauce for my leftover sandwiches. Just the right kick as the lemon zest cuts the zing horseradish significantly, although this probably isn’t a viable option for you with your husband’s aversion to horseradish. :)

  3. Thanks for the explanation–I’ve always thought 1,000 Island and Russian dressing were the same thing. Never liked 1,000 Island because of its sweetness, but we may try the Russian. We certainly enjoy your ranch recipe!

Leave a Reply

