Corned Beef Hash

Well we are at the end of our corned beef and what better way to send it off than to make it into a hash. My husband orders this every time that we go to a diner, so I thought I would give him a little salty, meat and potato heaven here at the house. I start back to yoga today after being on an almost two week hiatus. Got to go nurture my body, get some of the fat and toxins moving about  after eating all of this “celebration” food. Wish me luck. I am sure I will have lots of stories for tomorrow about the woes of that. Well, I just heard my hubbie in the other room say, “Oh…My…God!” With which I immediately thought, great what have the pups gotten into (like have they stole all of the hash off the counter kind of thought). Yes, these types of things happen at the Creative Noshing household. I answered back from the other room in a concerned and half already aggravated voice, “What?!….” Walking into the room, Hubbie has a devilish grin while picking at the hash, pups in toe. They all look at me. He laughs and says, “Oh, I don’t know. Just felt like saying oh my God.” Better hurry up and finish this post up, so I can sit with my silly family and eat some good food. Hope everyone has a great day today.

Corned Beef Hash

Serves 4

Corned Beef Hash
Corned Beef Hash

2 large potatoes, peeled and diced into 1/4 inch cubes

2 cups of corned beef, diced

1 small onion, diced

1/2 a bell pepper, diced

1 Tbsp butter

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

Fried eggs (optional)

In a medium sized bowl add the potatoes. Add about 2-3 tablespoons water. Wrap bowl in plastic wrap and microwave for about 4 minutes. Meanwhile add butter and about 1 tablespoon olive oil to a 12 inch skillet. Over medium heat, saute onions, bell peppers, and corned beef for about 5-7 minutes. Add cooked potatoes to skillet, mixing well. Pat evenly across pan and season with salt and pepper. Cook for 5 minutes without stirring to start browning potatoes. Flip and repeat about four more times. The potatoes will be noticeably brown. Take off heat. Plate and top with fried egg. Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Corned Beef Hash

    1. Oh yoga was a little brutal, but not as bad as I had built it up in my mind. I try to add more water. Hard to stay away from the bad stuff lately though. What do you do when your tape is broken. Any sort of routine that you keep up with?

      1. I get bored really easily so I like to change it up- I do have a yoga for dummies sun salute (I promise that’s what it’s called!) dvd that I like- especially if I’ve been slack on exercise a little while and need to refocus. Just Dance 3 “Just Sweat” for the Wii is my friend :) It’s super fun. I like the 10 minute solutions series cause I can sneak in a few minutes here and there if I’m busy. And if I feel like zoning out and watching tv I like these:
        http://health-heaven.tumblr.com/post/9375552454/lose-20-pounds

  1. Yummy, over here we something very similar call it “pytt i panna” = small pieces in a pan. Eat it once a week. Great meal – with pickled beetroots and fried egg, but I prefer raw egg yolks.

  2. Looks just amazing, especially with a fried egg to top it off and a great big cup of hot coffee to go along with it!

  3. We never seem to have the left overs long enough to try this and from looking at whats left from Sunday’s meal, we will have to wait again to try this. Looks great.

    1. Oh yeah, I know what you mean. Sometimes I cook meals just for the leftovers. I’ll have to incorporate my fur buddies into a post one of these days. Maybe I’ll catch them doing something devious. That shouldn’t be hard, they are a mischievous pair.

Leave a Reply

