Balsamic Baby Carrots

Going into this post, I know it will probably be my lowest ranked one. I mean I am spending my time talking about the lowly carrot. And I am not even talking about some fancy carrot that you have to mail order special seeds that are shipped to you from across the world. Nope, just the plain old common carrot that you could pick at any grocer or farmer’s market.

Growing up in a sustainable household, this is the way that I was taught to cook. Every meal, we had very common vegetables that were grown in our garden. We didn’t have the time or money to mess around with vegetables that were finicky prima donnas in our soil. Our meat, well that was always the toss up. My Dad went out hunting and fishing almost every single day and we were never sure what he was bringing home, so we had to be pretty confident in our sides and their preparation.

On a lot of today’s dinner tables, vegetables seem to be an afterthought.  Sure, we all know the importance to put at least two servings of vegetables on the plate but a lot of times it turns into a shoulder shrug and the pot of boiling water with a tab of butter enters the room. While this is a good, handy preparation for most vegetables, I ask you to branch out a tiny bit more the next time you are staring down our little orange root vegetable friend and finish out your carrots in a beautiful balsamic reduction. I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

Balsamic Baby Carrots

Balsamic Baby Carrots
Balsamic Baby Carrots

3 cups water

1 package (1 lb) baby carrots

1 small onion sliced thinly

1 tbsp olive oil

3 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 ½ tbsp sugar

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp ground pepper

2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Bring 3 cups of water to a boil in 3 qt. sauce pan; add carrots and return to a boil and cook 4 minutes. Remove from heat and drain. Sauté onion in hot oil in large skillet over medium high heat 3 minutes or until crisp and tender. Add carrots, balsamic vinegar, and next three ingredients, and cook 4 minutes or until liquid is reduced and carrots begin to glaze. Remove from heat and stir in chopped parsley. Yield: six servings

28 thoughts on “Balsamic Baby Carrots

  1. I like fancy food as much as the next kitchen dabbler, but let’s get serious here: how many of us can actually afford to eat like that? I love recipes that twist the traditional. Recipes that are USEFUL in everyday life and cooking. Where I don’t feel like I need a thousand dollars worth of kitchen gadgets or have to hop from store to store searching for ingredients. We all gotta eat, right? I guess that’s sorta the mantra for my site- my mission statement, so-to-speak. And this FITS. Not only do I have all the ingredients, but I know my kids will eat it. Love it! Thanks!

  2. I don’t think it is a low ranked post! I love finding new ways to make veggies … veggies are are important in my meal planning. I’m planning a garden this year and multi-colored carrots are going in! Thanks for posting!

  3. This I like and do quite often – same recipe nearly – think I got mine from a TV cooking show. As a kid I couldn’t stand carrots, because they was always overcooked and tasted absolutely nothing. Today I eat them specially raw as a snack during the day – great vegetable and like yours here – not at all boring.

  4. I think these look and sound just delicious. I will definitely try them and now I’m wondering what other veggies would I pair this balsamic reduction with. I’m going to try my hand at growing carrots again this year. For some reason last year they came out Ken and Barbie size. I’m no expert, but that’s just not right!

    1. Thanks. I am sure this reduction would go well with any root vegetable. We’ve had some pretty gnarled up looking vegetables, that’s what you get when you are growing small amounts for yourself. The farms get those too but they only sell the “perfect” ones. I like’em looking crazy, gives them character.

  5. Looks delicious! I love the idea of trying carrots this way and finding new veggie sides that are easy to do is always a bonus. I’m a big fan of the lowly carrot anyway.

  6. Looks like a heavenly carrot dish. But I have to tell you–as succinctly as I can, and not over ten posts’ comment columns–you have been telling such a compelling family story that I feel almost as though I’m another cousin. What a privilege to have such a warm and thoughtful and good-food-filled invitation into your family’s story. I thank you for it. Lovely.
    Kathryn

  7. Thank you so much…I do not know how to fix carrots except in a pot roast…and I do it every time I do a roast….which I did tonight…this is great:) I will be trying it for sure in the next week…I had a Dr. once tell me that carrots are very good for your inards and healthy for helping your body work right….soooo….this is a great post…thank you much:)

  8. I read this post just before I went for grocery shopping and on a whim, I decided to buy baby carrots. I made this for dinner tonight and what an interesting, lovely combination, carrots and balsamic vinegar!

    Thank you :)

  9. Carrots are so good though, and I love balsamic vinegar with them. Your version looks particularly good.

    (Also, the number one most popular post on my blog is a carrot recipe. Seriously! People love carrots.)

    1. Carrots are so easy to get and are sweet crunchy veggies, but still I was pretty surprised with the response. I was sure that this would be a post that got lost in abyss, but I have had good feed back.

Leave a Reply

