Grilled Italian Chicken

For our everyday life here, we love very practical cooking. Sure, once a month I will make my own stock, and I have homemade red wine vinegar, and I have been known to have a bread starter living in my fridge for months on end. This is all true, so yes, I have been known to be a little impractical when it comes to preparing food, but there are some modern day conveniences that have crept into my life that I take advantage of. For one, I buy chicken now.

Sometimes I giggle to myself, thinking about the chickens with all the stamps of approval across them– hormone free, free range chickens that are so expensive at the grocer. I grew up calling that yard bird. During the growing seasons of my youth, the neighbor down the way came once a week with fresh eggs and sometimes a chicken to trade my Dad for vegetables. We, of course, would fry it, as is the local food tradition, but now I try to have fried chicken as a treat more than a way of life. What do I do now with chicken?

Entering mainstream society, I have been known to be tired at the end of the day from work or school or whatever my more modern life has held at various times. Sometimes, I just couldn’t be bothered with working with meat sitting in my refrigerator, but I have found an easy solution that my family loves  and is a modern day convenience, inexpensive bottled Italian dressing. It gives the poultry loads of flavor, while being cost effective and saves me a lot of time. Plus you can use this chicken in so many other dishes such as sandwiches, wraps, chopped up for salad, tossed in pasta, etc….

Grilled Italian Chicken

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5-6 boneless/skinless chicken breasts

1 cup Italian Dressing

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 lemon

Pound out each chicken breast to 1/2 inch thickness. Place in a seal-able container with Italian dressing, salt, pepper and lemon juice. Marinate in refrigerator for 2- 12 hours. Grill over high heat for  7-8 minutes and flip. Cook for another 7-8 minutes. Check meat for doneness and serve. Enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Grilled Italian Chicken

  1. Nicely grilled chicken breast here, chef! That sandwich would be perfect for me just now – on my way to Zumba class. For me chicken is the most versatile piece of meat there is – can use it for absolutely everything. Your sandwich photo is so divine – a big tease!

    1. Thanks. I agree, chicken is very versatile. The sandwich was ciabatta , mixed spring greens, a little Dijon, and melted Swiss with the chicken of course. Would have added tomatoes, but there aren’t any good tomatoes available yet. Can’t wait for summer for that!

  2. Italian dressing was a secret marinade that a friend used on their BBQ chicken all the time. I was thrilled when she finally told me how she got that delicious flavor! I’m all over convenience. I want a bite of your sandwich!!

    1. Thanks. The Italian dressing is a perfect marinade, especially when your throwing the chicken on the grill. Has the right amount of zest to keep your palate interested and the right amount of sugar to get that beautiful char on the outside.

  3. My Dad used to marinate chicken all the time like this and it was always delicious. He called it one of his “secret recipes.”

    1. Yes, when you told me that you had not heard of the magic of Italian Dressing on chicken, I thought how many others do not know this easy little trick, so I decided to share it. It really is so yummy and easy.

Leave a Reply

