Beer Bread

When we moved to the Midwestern part of the United States, I started to be invited to home parties of various sorts with the main purpose to sell products to the far reaches of America where big business had not infiltrated the culture yet. These parties were themed with anything; plastic storage containers, candles, cook ware, marinades, home decor, and various boxed food items. Mainly it was to bring together all of your friends to talk and laugh and have fun. I enjoyed the parties, it reminded me of what I picture the housewives of the 1950’s participating in.  I should have totally had a 1950’s theme party for one of those, but alas those are but fond memories now.

At one of my favorite parties, I was introduced to a beer bread, in box form, of course.  A beautiful sweet and savory quick bread. I did a little research to figure out if I could make a similar version at home now that I do not have access to those parties and box mixes anymore. Who knew, beer bread is quite simple to make even without the box mix and just as delicious as I remember.

Beer Bread

Beer Bread
Beer Bread

Ingredients:

3 cups all purpose flour (sifted)

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

1 (12 ounce) can beer

1/4 cup melted butter

garlic powder

paprika

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix dry ingredients and beer. Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Pour melted butter over mixture. Sprinkle a little garlic powder and paprika on top. Bake 1 hour, remove from pan and cool for at least 15 minutes.

37 thoughts on “Beer Bread

  1. I was introduced to Beer Bread by a friend who was a chef for the railroad. He died many years ago, and I miss both him, and his delicious foods. Thanks for this recipe, and for reminding me of my dear friend. I can’t wait to try making this.

  2. Wov … something new for me – beer bread. Looks simple enough to do … so on file it goes. Don’t like to bake with yeast, we don’t talk the same language *smile

    1. I’ve used everything from a dark ale to lighter american style beers. My husband brews his own beer so usually it is his beer. Really it is the perfect recipe if someone leaves beer at your home that you dont really like.

  3. I have been on a homemade bread kick all week. I am boycotting the grocery store bread prices. I actually have two recipes I’ve been trying to find a minute to post. And then I’m gonna cross the county line and buy some beer to bake this! Mmmmm! Looks super moist.

  4. Got a new recipe for this:] It is a bit different (adds honey, uses the butter differently, no paprika, and no garlic), I am thinking of posting it. Want me to link your recipe as another version?

  5. A bit lost in conversion here – 1/4 of a cup = what is that in oz ????!!! 3 cups no problem for me = 700gr – sorry, for being European *smile

  6. The bread is in the oven now … the dough looked a bit dry to me – but what would I know. Could have got the flour measures wrong, but I checked both fl oz and weight oz.- just wait and see now. Very exciting. Me and baking isn’t the best of friends. *smile

    1. Hopefully, it all worked out for you and you were fretting for nothing. However, if it didn’t turn out like my picture, here may be some reasons why: the weight of one cup flour should be a little shy of 5 ounces. Also in the states, our all purpose flours range between 8-11% protein levels, the lower the protein level the lighter the dough. I hope this helps…

      1. It turned out excellent the second time around – when I saw all the flour I knew it wasn’t going to a bread, but now I know. Wonderful bread. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

