Poppy Seed Dressing

With the entrance of spring, right now is a beautiful time for using the crossover fruits and vegetables for meals. As apples are exiting the scene, strawberries are entering, so why not pair them during this rare opportunity.  That was my thought at least when making my gorgeous salad yesterday, bursting with vivid colors and various textures and flavors, it kept my taste buds interested. The perfect topping was a sweet and tangy dressing accented by pops of savory crunch provided by the poppy seeds. Enjoy!

Poppy Seed Dressing

Apple and Strawberry Salad with Bacon, Pecans, Gorgonzola and Poppy Seed Dressing
Apple and Strawberry Salad with Bacon, Pecans, Gorgonzola and Poppy Seed Dressing

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/8 cup apple cider vinegar

1/8 cup honey

1 TBSP poppy seeds

1 teaspoon grated onion

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

In a medium bowl, combine all the ingredients together until well blended. Refrigerate for up to 5 days.

16 thoughts on “Poppy Seed Dressing

  1. Your dressings are always so good. I’m gonna make this one!
    Bought a carton of strawberries the other day… almost ate the whole thing by myself.
    I have missed strawberries.
    But apples never exit my scene. Locavores don’t hate. I can’t get by without granny smith apples.

    1. I love strawberries and this dressing gets made a few times a year so I can have them with my mixed greens and pecans and gorgonzola. I have to admit I was pretty spoiled with apples in the midwest. We had our own tree and it doesnt get any fresher than that.

      1. Yay! That’s awesome. Saw your post on flats of Strawberries from Florida. My mom used to go to Plant City for the yearly Strawberry Festival and bring us back loads of strawberries and all kinds of produce. Anyway, glad to hear you tried the recipe and liked. Thanks for letting me know how it turned out for you.

  2. I usually make a salad like this in the spring when fresh berries are in season, but now I see that my salad has been missing bacon, apples, pecans and Gorgonzola. Can’t wait to put a new spin on one of my favorite salads!

Leave a Reply

