Baked Beans

I am not sure where this recipe originated, in England, New England, or specifically a brand of baked beans that adapted themselves in the southern part of the United States? Nevertheless, I grew up with these beans at every picnic and BBQ of my youth. With the whispers of the weather getting warmer, I decided to make a dish of it to serve alongside some grilled hot dogs the other day. Though I have to admit, my husband and I ended up eating more of the beans.

Baked Beans

Baked Beans
Baked Beans

1 (16 ounce) can of baked beans

2 tbsp onion, minced

2 tbsp green bell pepper, roughly chopped

5 slices bacon, uncooked

3 tbsp of Ketchup

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp BBQ sauce

1 clove garlic, minced

Salt and pepper to taste

Oven version:

In an 8×11 empty the can of baked beans. Mix in the rest of the ingredients except for bacon. Lay the strips of raw bacon over the top. Cook for 1 hour in a 350 degree oven. Broil it for 5 minutes to crisp up the bacon on top.

18 thoughts on “Baked Beans

  1. Your baked beans sound good. This is the way I have always made my baked beans as well. I grew up in Texas…maybe it is a southern way of doing them. I live in New England now and most people here leave them pretty plain.

  2. LOoOOoOOoooove! Baked beans – this look really good and easy. I always eat beans with boiled potatoes, grilled thick sliced smoked bacon and poached egg. This will put an edge to it. Are you using ready bake beans and still 1 hour in the oven ???? I must have lost the plot here – then crisp up for an other 5 min. Sorry, for not understanding. Are you using the bean tin to cook in the oven ??? Very confused Swede in this end *laughing.

    1. yep, they are already cooked in the can variety. I put them in a casserole dish. Then I lay the bacon across it and bake for an hour, crisping bacon at very end under broiler. It sounds weird but it works.

      1. Okay …. will give it ago!!! Must be very think sliced bacon ???? I sure it works – only I could get my head around it … happens quite often. *smile

      2. I buy what they call thick slice here, but it is only 1/8 inch at the most. Thinner bacon would work too, because the sauce under it keeps it pretty moist. I think it works because after you put it in the oven, there is no agitation of the beans, therefore they don’t break down, but then again I dont know. I’ll call it magic. :)

      3. We all need magic in the kitchen .. and anywhere else for that matter. Will try it and come back with a report. One of my blogging sisters are baking the beer bread just now for her evening meal in Holland. You have got us all going. *smile – keep on sharing.

  3. I love baked beans especially as a part of the whole English breakfast package. This looks very yummy so I will definitely give it a try. I had your beer bread for dinner to go with the baked spaghetti tonight. It was wonderful! Thanks for that recipe. ;-)

Leave a Reply

