German Apple Pancake

Breakfast is one of my favorite meals of the day. Especially on the weekends, when we have more time to dedicate to whipping up something delightful such as this take on a pancake. While I am unsure specifically if this is Dutch or German after reading much debate on the internet, I will call it what I have heard it referred to in the states: German Apple Pancake. Regardless, it is as delicious as it is beautiful. With its souffle comes crispy edges on the outside and a custard-like middle topped by apples, mmmmm… I can’t think of much better to go along with a nice big cup of  joe to start my morning.

Apfelpfannkuchen – German Apple Pancake

Apfelpfannkuchen - German Apple Pancake
Apfelpfannkuchen – German Apple Pancake

4 eggs

1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1 pinch salt

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup white sugar, divided

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 large tart apple – peeled, cored and sliced

Directions

In a blender, pulse eggs, flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, milk, vanilla, and melted butter. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Melt butter in a 10 inch oven proof skillet, brushing butter up on the sides of the pan. In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle mixture over the butter. Line the pan with apple slices. Sprinkle remaining sugar over apples. Place pan over medium-high heat until the mixture bubbles, then gently pour the batter mixture over the apples. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) and bake for 10 minutes. Slide pancake onto serving platter and cut into wedges. Serve with maple syrup and whipped cream.

29 thoughts on “German Apple Pancake

      1. Apple Torte. Forgot the “e.” It is something I have seen on a lot of my friend’s facebooks, but have only eaten once. I think they are pretty big right now, so you may have a real pinnable recipe! I am sure it is good either way though.

  1. Here we go again … Been engaged to a German man for 8 years and I have never had a pancake *smile – specially not with apples. Had quite a few pancakes in Amsterdam. *smile Looking good to me – and I’m very good on doing souffles – so it goes on file.

    1. There were a lot of arguments whether the Dutch or German immigrants brought this dish over. I threw my hands up. The history of things get confusing here sometimes. Nevertheless, its a beautiful dish.

      1. No problem … you never know with the Germans … *smile – doesn’t really matter, so long it taste good. This will be a “try go” for me. Holland is the country that do pancakes with everything in and on. And they are massive.

  2. I am German and that looks extremely good!!! Will have to try it as well!!! :-) Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!

  3. Oh my word this looks crazy amazing. And I have everything to make it. I think I will do just that. I read a blog the other day when I was looking for a chocolate pie crust substitute (more on that another day… it tasted like a Tootsie Roll… very strange) and this girl was PISSED about people calling something a “Dutch” apple pie. I say who cares if it’s good? And this, my friend, looks gooood. Call it whatever ya wanna!

    1. Thanks. It was very good. Of course as with any souffle, you have to eat it warm out of the oven. It gave us an excuse to be little pigs about it and we gobbled it down that night. As far as the food history brought to the states, it will always be confusing as there was a mass settlement of of German and Dutch immigrants to Pennsylvania in the beginning. Because they all lived so close to one another, their cultures began to mix. Because of the specific dialect that was born from this melting pot, we have what is reffered to as the Pennsylvania Dutch. Of course, recipes were meshed and well, it gets cloudy. It is delicious though!

Leave a Reply

