Broccoli Salad

This is a recipe that is a shout out to my Mom. It is one that she made for us all the time, be it a side dish, a snack or something to take to a covered-dish supper. As with most things with my mother, it had to be delicious but also simple, which I appreciate now that I have to replicate my childhood food memories.

As an adult, I have found myself using this as a quick complete grab and go lunch item that I can make at the beginning of the week and throw into containers in the fridge. Grab this, an apple and a water; and I am ready for a day at the office. So yes Mom, you are still feeding me, even a million miles away!

Broccoli Salad 

Broccoli Salad
Broccoli Salad

2 large heads of broccoli, cut into bite sized pieces

10 slices of bacon, fried and crumbled

1 onion, minced

½ cup raisins (optional)

1 cup mayonnaise

1/3 cup sugar

2-4 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Mix broccoli, bacon, onions, and raisins. Mix mayonnaise, sugar, and vinegar. Pour over broccoli mixture. Let set for two hours

10 thoughts on “Broccoli Salad

  1. Raw broccoli is so under-rated. It’s crunchy, fresh, crisp, and loaded with awesome goodness.

    Long Live Broccoli!

    I eat mine sprinkled with Sricha/tamari/olive oil mixed into a wondrous dressing that will leave your mouth singing your praises.

    Your post has made my stomach grumble. Apparently I need to eat salad tomorrow. :)

  2. Can’t saw I love raw broccoli .. but this will make me re-think … looks good and not many ingredients and I love bacon – so file it goes … an other one.

    1. I have made this with steamed broccoli before and it turned out fine. You could also add honey or agave nectar if you find you need a touch of sweetness. Be creative and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

