Beer Battered Onion Rings

Deep fried foods are part of my culture, part of what I grew up with, and in a way a part of who I am; because it is part of my history. Intrinsic to me, I find not only the taste of fried foods appealing but the smell of the fat heating up in a fryer takes me on a long road back to home, to my mother’s tiny kitchen.

The baby blue contact paper with little white ducks hung as if it were wall paper juxtaposed to the matching painted pine cabinets with simple white pulls and knobs. I sit on the washing machine and watch in anticipation, as the FryDaddy simmers and crackles when she introduces some delicious breaded concoction to the hot peanut oil.

I only eat fried food as a treat now and rarely do I make it at home.  Last night, I treated us to a fried delight: beer battered onion rings and it took me back to the way back. Served with some Homemade Ranch Dressing. Mmmmm!

Beer Battered Onion Rings

Beer Battered Onion Rings
Beer Battered Onion Rings

1 onion cut into ¼ inch strips

1 can beer

1 tsp salt

1 ½ cup flour

Mix beer, salt, and flour in large bowl. Mixture will resemble a thin pancake batter. Mix in onions until well coated. When oil in deep fryer reaches 350, fry until golden brown. About 2 minutes.


17 thoughts on “Beer Battered Onion Rings

    1. Yes, my Dad was pretty particular about the smell and mess that was left behind by the frying process and when he cooked, he took the fryer outside under the porch. Those nights we always had company for supper as every stray human and animal would sniff us out.

  1. I’m so pissed that I just ate the super tender and totally fried pork chops that my sweetie’s mom made for dinner because I have surpassed my greasy food quota for the week and all I really want right now is an onion ring.

    1. Ooooh fried pork chops are some of my favorite. Especially, the little thin ones with the bone still in and the little rind of fat that turns to crispy porcine candy once fried. Mmmmm…. You are taking me back. You can pick up the onion rings next week, no worries.:)

  2. Yes – Yes – Yes, this we (my buds and me) like very much and they are looking good. Beer in the batter fluff things up. Like mine with sour cream mixed with sweet chilli sauce. Always use beer in my fish batter and rice corn instead of flour – it comes up beautiful like tempura batter and the fish looks nearly double the size. Happy Easter – here we start Easter today, with half day at the office *smile

      1. .. in my fish & chips post .. I used ale and rice corn. With fish get away from the flour – it’s so heavy. Promise you will get the best fish & chips you ever tasted. Fish taste totally different with rice corn. On the bus to mum now.

Leave a Reply

