Hot Cocoa

Whether you call it hot chocolate or hot cocoa, there is nothing quite as comforting as a mug of warm liquid chocolate on a cold day. As long as you keep your pantry stocked with cocoa powder, homemade hot cocoa can be enjoyed anytime. No need to weather the elements to buy the little packets of cocoa mix, as this is no harder to make and tastes better. Get creative, use a different flavoring or add a touch of cinnamon, or even a different sweetener, etc… You can always adjust it to your taste, just remember to have fun with it!

Hot Cocoa

Hot Cocoa
Hot Cocoa

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon cocoa powder

Dash salt

1 cup milk

Splash vanilla extract

marshmallows (optional)

Mix sugar, cocoa and salt in large mug.  Heat milk in microwave for 1-1/2 minutes or until hot. Gradually add hot milk to cocoa mixture in mug, stirring until well blended. Stir in vanilla.

16 thoughts on “Hot Cocoa

  1. I LOVE hot cocoa! It’s a great way to end the day! I make mine pretty much like you do. After you try the real thing (cocoa), there is just no going back to instant. I’m a vegetarian but I love the gooey marshmallow on top. So I put a dallop of marshmallow cream on top and enjoy! Speaking of which, I think I need to get on that! Thanks!!

  2. “Hot Cocoa” – i never liked … but this think I will give it a try again. Love chocolate, but not drinking it. Will give it a try again.

  3. I love hot chocolate! When I stopped drinking coffee a few years ago, hot chocolate became my new addiction! As a kid, my mom always had a cup of hot chocolate filled with marshmallows waiting for us when we’d come home from school on the cooler days. YUM!!!

  4. It amazes me how often people forget the pinch of salt in sweet things–that’s what *makes* them so fantastic, really, and highlights the sweetness. Perfectly done, this. :)

Leave a Reply

