Honey Beer Basted Ham

During the week, I record “The Chew” and have it going in the background when I am settling down at night doing chores or whatever else, you know like checking WordPress. Normally, I am a bit preoccupied and glance up occasionally to see what is going on.

However, this past week they had on a guest named Luke Mangan, a chef from Australia, I believe. Anyway, he was making a ham with a beer glaze  that looked quite interesting. Seeing as we have never made a baked ham that we were quite happy with and we also have a fascination with cooking with beer, why not? At the end of it all, the flavor was great. There were quite a few changes that I would make next time to tweak it to our taste and so I revamped the recipe with these changes. If you are making a ham, this would be a great twist on an old favorite. We will definitely be making this again.

Honey Beer Basted Ham

Honey Beer Basted Ham
Honey Beer Basted Ham

1 (10-lb) Cooked Leg Ham or Picnic Ham

2 tablespoons reserved bacon grease

2 tablespoons Whole cloves

1/2 can stout beer (other half for chef)

1/2 cup Maple Syrup

1/2 cup Honey

1/3 cup whole grain Dijon mustard

Preheat oven to 375F. Using a sharp knife, trim fat layer, if necessary. Score shallow criss-cross patterns in fat, without cutting into meat. Stud the criss-cross sections with a clove. Place ham in a large roasting pan. Place reserved bacon grease in bottom of pan. For the glaze, place the beer, maple syrup, honey and mustard into a pot and bring to a boil. Pour over ham and bake ham for 2 hours or until golden, basting with juices at 10 minute intervals. If juices in pan evaporate too quickly, add a little more water. Transfer ham to a platter. If your ham is larger or smaller than 10 lbs, reduce or increase the cooking time until you are happy with the level of caramelization.To carve, remove cloves and then using a carving fork and a long thin carving knife.

30 thoughts on “Honey Beer Basted Ham

  1. That looks so delicious! I hope someday I have the confidence to make this kind of recipe. Sounds a little challenging.

    1. It is very delicious. Flavor combination is a nice twist. The fact that it is made from a precooked ham makes it a little easier. If you are a little hesitant, start with a small pressed ham, and make the sauce to pur over it in the oven.

      1. Thanks for the tip. Someday I’ll be able to make a ham that can compete with the Honey Baked store! LOL. Just gotta work up to it though.

  2. Initially I read the title wrong as “honey bear basted ham” which would be another (rather disturbing) thing entirely.

    Anyhoo, caught my attention! This looks delish!

    Bug @ Bugwear

  3. “I like to cook with wine,…. I even use it in the recipe sometimes!” Sorry, that’s just what I thought about when I saw beer as an ingredient. But, let me just say, this looks great. A must try for sure.

  4. Once again, you give us something with a twist – beer & ham, then you used already cooked ham. Looks fantastic, like always – quite fancy the combination honey and beer. Because as you know I’m that keen on beer. But so far with you it has worked fantastically.

      1. Good to hear! Can’t wait for the weekend. I’ll let you know when and if I get to cook it. =)

Leave a Reply

