The Elvis Sandwich

When I think of Elvis Presley, three images come into mind. One image is of my Dad singing to a record in our living room during a rare glimpse of him happy and healthy. The second memory that pops up is a trip my husband and I  took to Memphis and ultimately our visit to Graceland. The third is the image that most people have of Elvis, him shaking his leg and dancing around during concerts, people screaming and crying, shaking with excitement.

This element of crying out of excitement is so foreign to me. Was it from a time when seemingly nothing exciting ever happened, so when it did, people lost their minds or is it that people nowadays are devoid of emotional connections to excitement? I don’t know the answer, but could it be that harder times make us happier? Were times so hard back in the day that people really knew how to celebrate, let it all loose? Are we so spoiled with everything at our fingertips that majority of us never work towards anything because we expect things to go our way, so we never really celebrate achievements, big and small?

Elvis, an icon, someone who brought joy, happiness and excitement to millions. When was the last time, you heard of anyone described that way? Out of celebration of Elvis and all the big and small achievements, I bring the sandwich named after him “The Elvis,” which I quite enjoy. Peanut butter, banana, bacon, with a drizzle of honey. It sounds weird but once you try it, it makes sense. Go celebrate, maybe even loose your mind, dance around and cry at the same time. Just don’t do it with sandwich in mouth, that would be, well…stupid.

The Elvis

The Elvis
The Elvis

2 tbsp butter, softened

8 slices white bread

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

1 large, ripe banana, sliced

1/4 cup honey

12 slices bacon, sautéed until crispy (optional)

Preparation:

Spread the butter on 1 side of each slice of bread. On the other side of half of the slices spread peanut butter. Place banana slices on top of peanut butter. Drizzle honey over bananas. Place 3 bacon slices on top of the banana then place the remaining buttered bread slices on top, butter-side-out.

Place sandwiches on a preheated grill pan or griddle. Flip them over when they become golden brown and crispy. When the sandwiches are browned on both sides, remove to plates. Slice in half and serve immediately.

9 thoughts on “The Elvis Sandwich

  1. LIke Elvis … like bacon, like banana .. like honey – peanut butter in any form *smile. Love you story about your dad – it’s strange how food can affect our memory … like me, pork and a hotel in UK:

  2. I would agree that the screaming and crying is from a time past, except I had the misfortune of taking my daughter and friends to see Justin Bieber several years ago. Good.Ness. Oi. I could have used one of these sandwiches. And a scotch. Will have to make these and see if we can re-create that excitement :-)

    1. Haha, No I don’t have any teeny boppers around to school me on the Justin Bieber phenomenon. I am young enough that I liked NKOTB but that only lasted 6 months or so until I was on to the new fad. Maybe I am the one who is fickle.

    1. Elvis was cool. He kept his image up for a long, long time and made a lot of smart business moves. My Dad was an Elvis fan and he was incredibly particular about music, I haven’t seen any musicians nowadays that appeal to the girls but also to the music connoisseur also. He is one of a kind and supposedly this was his favorite sandwich.

Leave a Reply

