Caribbean Rice

Today, I am giving you a recipe that is not only easy, but it delicious and cheap. Heavenly words, right?

My inspiration was from reading an article today about making it on your own. It was an article about sewing but it still got me thinking of how rewarding it is to make it on your own.

I learned from a very early age that my goal should be to make it on my own, that true feelings  of accomplishment come from that.  I promised myself that I would make it on my own as an adult, even if that meant I would have to live in a shady low rent area, which I did for a portion of my life. It was authentic and truthful, because I understood that that was truthfully what I could afford. It gave me a humble base, a place to start from. I knew I wouldn’t always live that life, but I also didn’t think I was better than that life, because my checkbook told me that I was living the life I deserved in the moment. I accepted that  and if  my life ever dictated that I needed to go back to living that way, I would follow my life’s direction. Living day to day managing every aspect of your life is hard and not falling back on anyone is hard. I am not going to pretend like it’s not. What my parents did arm me with that I appreciate was the ability to cook my own food. I could budget every morsel and for the most part, I could be well fed.

Once I met my husband and we started to build our life from the ground up, it was so nice to have someone to lean on, a life partner that you work this stuff out with, without any cause for infiltration of outside influences for our most important decisions. For me, it made our union even more special, because it was just me and you, baby.

One item that I have learned over the years is vital to get you through the rough times is rice. It’s cheap and doesn’t take much to cook. Really rice can become anything you want it to become, your imagination is the limit. One rice dish that I created from various pantry items we had at the time was this Caribbean Rice. Sure we couldn’t afford a Caribbean vacation at the time, but we could sit on pillows in the floor and enjoy conversation with each other over a bowl jam packed with flavor in our own serene environment. Vacation is just a mindset, so if you need a something to spice up your food rotation try this Caribbean rice dish, maybe even save some money on your electricity bills and turn off all the appliances and light some candles. Sit in the quiet ambiance of your life and relish in what you have built so far.

Caribbean Rice

Caribbean Rice
Caribbean Rice

3 TBSP olive oil

1 small onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 garlic clove minced

1 cup Jasmine or Basmati rice

½ tsp cayenne

1 tsp turmeric

1 TBSP curry paste

1 1/2 cups chopped fresh pineapple

2 cups chicken stock

½ cup shredded coconut

Salt to taste

Saute onion and bell pepper in olive oil until onions become translucent. Add rice, cayenne, turmeric, curry paste and garlic. Saute until rice becomes opaque. Add chicken stock, pineapple, coconut, and salt. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Take off heat and let sit cover for another 10 minutes.

14 thoughts on “Caribbean Rice

  1. I was on my own at an early age, but I didn’t have any cooking skills to speak of, which was a detriment. I ate a lot of junk and probably spent a lot more than I should have! What a great versatile recipe to have on hand. Sounds delicious. I may try teaching Ellie to cook this!

    1. When I went off to college, I was the first in my family to go. Because of a program at my high school I was able to start college during my senior year. Once I got there, it was a whole different world than what I was used to. I was shocked at how many people didn’t know how to cook. I was lucky, I avoided the freshman 15, but of course, you’ll put on the freshman 15 if all you eat is junk and cheap college food. I was volunteered to be roommates a lot because I could cook. Believe me, there is never a negative with knowing the basics of cooking.

  2. I love your last comment, “relish in what you have built so far” When my husband and I were newlyweds our grocery budget was $100 a month! Looking back, I have no idea how we managed that, but I guess in reality, just fine :) Your rice dish looks delicious!

    1. Thanks. It was delicious. Yes I have had those months where we had the bare minimum budget. BUt you know, you learn so much from that character wise and believe me to stretch your budget that tight, you have to be extremely clever.

  3. Great writing .. great food again – comfort food … and as you said, cheap food too and most of us know how to boil rice. Wonderful picture too. When my state pension kicks in – it will rice every second day *smile – food don’t have to be so advanced and expensive to be adventures. Like this a lot.

  4. I love a good carpet picnic. I am a firm believer in having loads of fun without spending much– the imagery here made me smile. It was perfect.
    I have never figured out how people with no kitchen skills survive at all on a tight budget. I have survived my whole life on being food thrifty and using EVERYTHING :)

    1. Thanks. I was shocked when I went off from home and most of my peers didn’t know how to cook. It was nice in a way though because every one of my roommates would buy groceries and always shared with me generously because I could cook. Most of the time my grocery budget didn’t have to be large because my roommates were always asking me to prepare them special meals and I didn’t mind because I like to cook.

Leave a Reply

