Applesauce

When I lived in the Midwestern part of the United States, we had an apple tree in our yard. It was tiny, but boy did it produce quite a harvest of apples every year. I learned very quickly that crisp apples right off the tree were far superior to anything you can buy in a supermarket.

However, I had no idea what I was in for as far as using them up. Sure I took them to work, I even left a ladder in the tree for the neighbor boy who would creep in my yard to “steal” apples, but I was still left with garbage bags full. Not knowing what to do with them, I set out to find the best use of apples, meaning what recipe would use up the most apples. Hands down, if you have an overabundance of apples, applesauce is your best bet. I quickly became an expert at whipping up vats of delicious applesauce as I put back at least 40 cups of this delicious stuff a year. Perfect for a quick snack, a side or even marries beautifully with pork, it has proven to be very versatile and quite a delicious treat.

Applesauce

Applesauce
Applesauce

6 cups apples, peeled, cored and chopped.

Combine the apples in a large pot with:

1 cup water

1-2 tsp cinnamon

Cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the apples are soft and falling apart, 20-30 minutes. Stir in:

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

Raise the heat to medium and use hand held immersion blender to puree apples. It is done when applesauce is thickened.

**If you do not have an immersion blender, you can use a blender or a food processor. Make sure to always vent hot foods in blender or your kitchen will be covered in whatever you are blending.

18 thoughts on “Applesauce

  1. Apple sauce for my oat porridge and the pork. What an easy recipe – think it will go well with pate too – hate Cumberland sauce – regarding the blender thing .. done it and have the T-shirt.

      1. Yes, they are great … lost mine along the way – between Sweden – UK – Ireland and Sweden. Manage without for years now, but maybe time to put one on the wishlist.

  2. I can remember sitting next to my grandmother and her friends while they peeled bushels and bushels of apples which were then made into pie fillings for crisps, dumplings, and pies, naturally, and the most delicious applesauce which I loved. This looks great!

  3. At our place on Orcas Island we have many apple trees. I took it for granted when we lived there full time. Now I miss them! We pressed cider, made chunky apple sauce, apple butter and froze a few pies. They are a perfect fruit.

  4. Wow does this bring back memories :-) My mom used to add those little hot dots (red coated hot candies) for flavor and color to her applesauce. Mmmmm.

      1. Yes! Red Hots! :-) Thanks, I couldn’t remember what they were called. I totally swiped your recipe and plan to make homemade applesauce this weekend. Thanks for bringing back memories!

  5. I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award because I think you are pretty awesome!
    Congratulations. Check it out: http://bit.ly/IOaIxe

    Here are the rules:

    * Thank the person(s) who nominated you and link back to them
    * Share 7 things about yourself
    * Nominate 15 bloggers you admire
    * Contact your nominees and let them know

Leave a Reply

