Broiled Grapefruit

A little while back, I was reading Filing Away Cupcakes’ blog and she had written a post about Broiled Grapefruit. Now, I am a big fan of grapefruit, well, anything citrus and I had never heard of broiling grapefruit so I was pretty intrigued. I couldn’t even imagine what a warm grapefruit tasted like.

The other day at the market, the floral citrus smell permeating from a local organic grapefruit bin beckoned me like the ethereal song of a snake charmer. Feeling the heavy weight and smelling the deep perfume of the outside rind, I bought one knowing it would be the perfect specimen to try this recipe out on.

The recipe called for brown sugar and butter and tad bit of cinnamon. As soon as I put the sugar on, it started to melt into the juiciness of the grapefruit, I told you it was a prime grapefruit. I found that the grapefruit was a little too juicy as it didn’t set up as pretty as the picture on Filing Away Cupcakes’ post but that was okay, it was delicious. Almost tasting like honey, the slight bitterness of grapefruit was no longer there. It was very homey and I could see even making this and sticking in the fridge to eat later. I quite enjoyed it and it’s pretty darn healthy to boot.

Broiled Grapefruit
Broiled Grapefruit
14 thoughts on “Broiled Grapefruit

  1. Funny enough … this I knew all about – when I work on “Lindblad Explorer” – we served this as a starter. We also served fresh fruit salad with mayonnaise as a starer. Both was a bit difficult to accept as starters in the beginning, but after 4-6 times no problem. Love this myself. After reading that grapefruit aren’t that good for us women – I don’t do it that often. Brilliant for breakfast on a lazy Sunday morning.

  2. Hmmmm, interesting, I never heard of broiled grapefruit. It is actually a fruit I ignore because of I don’t find it tasty. Yet, I am going to try this recipe since brown sugar and butter should make grapefruit more palatable =)

Leave a Reply

