Hidden Mint Cookies

This recipe was born out of a happy mistake. I was preparing food for the very first holiday basket and I was following a Paula Dean recipe that called for thin mints. What she meant was the girl scout cookies, but I thought she meant Andes Thin Mints. Not knowing any better I made these. It has turned out to be a keeper and is my nieces and nephews’ favorite holiday cookie. Just a simple sugar cookie dough wrapped around an Andes Thin Mint. And OMG, don’t even get me started on these suckers straight out of the oven. Warm, gooey chocolate mint oozing out of a fresh baked cookie. Need I say more….

Hidden Mint Cookies

Hidden Mint Cookies
Hidden Mint Cookies

¾ cup butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 ½ cups all purpose flour

1tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

14-ounce package Andes chocolate mints

Cream butter; gradually add sugar, beating until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla; mix well. Combine dry ingredients; add to creamed mixture, mixing well. Divide dough in half; wrap in wax paper and chill at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Slightly grease a cookie sheet. Place slices of sugar cookies on sheet, about 2 to 3 inches apart. Top each with half of an Andes mint. Cover chocolate mint with another slice of cookie dough. Bake for about 10 minutes. Makes about 24-25 cookies.

21 thoughts on “Hidden Mint Cookies

  1. There is some famous dishes that has happen by mistake, so who knows. Pity on the mints – one of the few things I don’t eat – otherwise I been over for a cup of coffee and some cookies.

  2. Reblogged this on creative noshing and commented:

    My first holiday basket called today to let me know they received it. So exciting, I love surprising everyone. Anyway, here is another cookie that has in the basket from the beginning, born out of a happy mistake. Simple and delicious.

Leave a Reply

