Mojo Marinated Steak

Well it looks like I am going home for a few days, one of my Grandmothers passed away this morning from complications of COPD. Though she will be missed, it has been a long road for her and I know she is no longer suffering. Mainly I will miss her cooking and getting so caught up in her stories that she would look at me quizzically saying, “Baby, do you remember me salting that?” I am sure it will hit me harder when I sit with my family, one person missing, but I bid ado to you kind folks for a day or so sabbatical to celebrate the life of a wonderful woman and a wonderful cook. I leave with you a wonderful recipe for the weekend, Mojo Marinated Steak. The citrus flavors in the background mixed with earthy notes of cumin and annatto paste pulls the meal together.

From one cook to the other, “Life is so brief that we should not glance either too far backwards or forwards…therefore study how to fix our happiness in our glass and in our plate.”- Grimod de la Reynière

Mojo Marinated Steak

Mojo Marinated Steak with Puerto Rican Black Beans and Rice and Tostones
Mojo Marinated Steak with Puerto Rican Black Beans and Rice and Tostones

1 steak, pounded out thin (Flank, Flat Iron, Skirt and Sirloin will work fine here)

1/3 -1/2 cup olive oil

1 oz. annatto paste, approximately

2 Tbsp lime juice

3 Tbsp orange juice

1/2 tsp Mexican oregano

1/2 tsp adobo

1 clove garlic, minced

Salt and pepper to taste

In a large bowl mix together the olive oil, annatto paste, lime juice, orange juice, oregano, adobo, garlic, salt and pepper. Add meat and coat liberally. Cover and marinate in refrigerator for at least two hours. Grill over high heat for 8-10 minutes or until preferred done-ness is achieved. Serve immediately.

26 thoughts on “Mojo Marinated Steak

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    My condolences to you on the lost of your grandmother, I know first hand how grandmothers affect your life. Thank you for this magnificent recipe. The marriage of the flavors is stunning. Thank you “CreativeNoshing”.

  2. So sorry for your loss. I recently went to my friend’s mother’s home going service. She was a chef and in the eulogy the analogy for using salt was the theme. Salt can enhance the flavor of food, it can be used as a preservative and it was also used as insulation. Just like salt, your grandmother enhanced your life, filled you up with warmth (like insulation) and preserving the memories of her will keep her alive in your heart. I thought that was such a beautiful was to honor someone and felt it fitting to pass along to you. Take care.

  3. Thank you ….. just wonder what I can use instead of annatto paste – because that I know I can’t get over here. Sad read about how sick you grandma was … and now she have left. So sorry for you lost.

      1. Okay, heard about that .. I suppose I can do the past myself, but I will look in shops. Sounds great. Glad that she has come to rest if she was sick and the memories will be with forever and they will make difficult days easier.

  4. I’m really sorry for our loss. Your post really made an impact for me. My grandmother also suffers COPD, and I also enjoy so much of her cooking. I hope you manage to feel better soon.

    1. Thank you. I am sorry to hear about your grandmother. COPD is a long suffering disease. Make sure, while you have her here to get all of her recipes down, if you haven’t already. It will be a way you can have her at your dinner table later. Believe me, I am so glad I did.

Leave a Reply

