Santa Fe Soup

After this week, with one of my grandmother’s passing, I am certainly in the comfort food state of mind. However, it won’t do me or anyone else any good if I do a double back flip into a sea of bad eating habits. Luckily, one of the most comforting meals for me is a nice bowl of soup and soup can easily be done in a healthy manner. This soup is one of those that my mother made me as a kid that I have adapted into my own recipe, substituting ground beef for grilled chicken and adding in loads more vegetables to boost the healthy benefits of the soup.  It is yummy and soothes the soul.

Santa Fe Soup

Santa Fe Soup
Santa Fe Soup

2 cups grilled chicken, pulled into bite sized pieces

1 chopped onion

1 green bell pepper, chopped

1 package Ranch dressing mix

2 packages taco seasoning mix

1 cup chopped zucchini or summer squash

1 can black beans, drained

1 can kidney beans, drained

1 can pinto beans, drained

1 can diced roasted tomatoes, undrained

1 cup frozen or fresh corn

6 cups stock

cilantro

green onions

sour cream

avocado

Saute onion and green bell pepper in pot for about 10 minutes in a large pot over medium heat. Add ranch dressing mix and taco seasoning. Add remaining ingredients. Simmer for two hours. Garnish with sour cream, cilantro, avocado and green sliced onions. Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Santa Fe Soup

  1. Beautiful soup- so pretty I’d make it even though it’s gonna be 90 degrees :)

    I’ve been really busy as of late, but I read your post about heading to remember your Grandma last week, and wanted to wait until I could take a minute to write you a proper response. I’m so so sorry for your loss and though I don’t even know your name, we’ve had enough interaction here for me to count you as a friend & you’ve been on my mind. Eat comforting soup and don’t feel bad about brownies. Read, write, remember, and lose yourself in yoga… whatever helps. All the best to you and your family.

    1. Thank you. I think of you as a friend also and I appreciate your thoughts. I got home and was so thankful for the life I have built with my husband. It is all me, a completely different and healthy identity. It truly is my home, precious in every aspect. Sometimes you need those glaring reminders so that you see your life through the appropriate lens.

Leave a Reply

