Potato Gnocchi in Tomato Sauce

Returning home from my unplanned trip this weekend, I found myself with not only a house that needed straightening upon my return, but a pretty bare refrigerator. Before I received the phone call of my grandmother’s passing,  I had planned to go to the market the next day. On the bright side, I guess, it is better having left with a bare fridge than having a pantry full of fresh items going bad.

What I did have available were a few potatoes and my pantry essentials.  Plus a need and want for a project to keep my mind busy and gnocchi provided just that. Gnocchi isn’t a hard project, just a time consuming project. By the end of the afternoon, I had a clean apartment and these beautiful little potato pillows. Half of them I froze, the other half was adorned with a homemade red sauce and Parmesan cheese. So if you are like me and occasionally need a cooking project that relaxes you into a zen like state–this delicious gnocchi is calling your name.

Potato Gnocchi in Tomato Sauce

Potato Gnocchi in Tomato Sauce
Potato Gnocchi in Tomato Sauce

2 1/2 lbs potatoes (used 4 large Russets), washed and unpeeled

salt and pepper

2 large eggs

3 cups unbleached all purpose flour

Tomato sauce

Parmesan

Put the potatoes in a large pot and pour enough water to cover all the potatoes by at least two inches. Bring to a boil.and cook until they are tender when pierced with a skewer, about 40 minutes. Lift them out of the waterand let stand until cool enough to handle. The hotter the potatoes are when you rice them, the fluffier they will be. Scrape the peels off the potatoes. Send potatoes through a ricer or food mill. SPread the potatoes out in a thin layer to expose as much of their surface as possible.

While the potatoes are cooling, bring 6 quarts of salted water to a boil in a large pot over high heat.

On a cool work surface, gather the cols riced potatoes into a loose mound with a well in the center. beat the eggs, 1 tsp salt, and pepper together in a small bowl and pour into into well. Work potatoes and egg mixture together with hands, gradually adding as much flour as necessary to form a firm but moist dough. Stop frequently as you scrape up the dough that sticks to the work surface and reincorporate. Forming dough should take no longer than 10 minutes.

Cut the dough  into 6 equal portions. Using the outstretched palms and fingers, roll each piece of dough into rope about 1/2 inch thick. Cut rope cross wise into 1/2 inch pieces.Flour the pieces. Hold a fork at an angle on your work surface. dip the tip pf your thumb in flour. Take a dough ball and with the tip of your thumb, press lightly but firmly against the tines of the fork, rolling it downard. THe dough will form a dumpling with a ridged surface. Repeat with remaining peices of dough. At this point, the gnocchi can be cooked or frozen immediately.

If cooking, bring tomato sauce to a boil in a large skillet over medium heat. Drop the gnocchi into the large pot of boiling water a few at a time, stirring gently. Cook just until they rise to the surface and roll over, 2 to 3 minutes. Gently scoop the gnocchi out of the pot with a large wire skimmer and add them directly to the sauce in the skillet. Bring to a boil and gently coat gnocchi with sauce. Take off of heat and add grated Parmesan. Check the seasoning, adding salt if necessary. Serve immediately.

27 thoughts on “Potato Gnocchi in Tomato Sauce

    1. Thanks. I have never tried to cook it in the sauce without boiling it in salted water first, so I am not sure. If I were to try that though, I would add at least another 1/2 cup of water or stock to your sauce, maybe even more, so the gnocchi would have something to suck up. Let me know how it works out for you.

  1. I love potato gnocchi, but you are right that it is time consuming! I don’t know why I didn’t think of freezing them though…all the work is worth it if you get to enjoy them a few times!

    1. You are so right about that. It is definitely more worth it when you make big batches and freeze portions of it out. Then it becomes a super easy and delicious meal on a night when you have less time or patience.

  2. Potato Gnocchi in Tomato Sauce – just like yours (I think) I eaten once in Germany and it’s very a tasty dish. This brought back some memories .. in the spring morning.Thank you

  3. I love gnocchi! I’ve always been to intimidated by the whole process to try and make my own. This sounds so delicious I may just have to find a free afternoon to try it out.

  4. I’m the same that I haven’t tried gnocci before but I’d definitely like to try it, especially if I can make a big batch and freeze it for an easy supper another day. I do the same with pizza dough so there’s always something easy to grab out the freezer :)

    1. Thanks. Yes, I love having items ready to go in my freezer, especially homemade items. Makes life so much easier. Good idea with pizza dough. At what point do you freeze your pizza, right when you make it or after it rises?

      1. I let it rise then wrap it up tightly in cling film and pop it in a freezer bag. I think you can leave it up to 6 months but mines never lasted untouched that long! Thaw it out at room temperature then it’ll roll out fine :) x

  5. Oh yum! It doesn’t seem as complicated as I originally thought. I will have to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

