Peas and Carrots

What is more of a quintessential side dish than peas and carrots? It reminds me of 1950’s homemakers who wore pearls, heels, and dresses while vacuuming, ironing, and cooking with babies in toe. A time in American history where women were truly on the cusp grabbing their independence, but it had not happened quite yet.

Later, during my youth, you would find mediocre versions of peas and carrots packed in TV dinner trays. Although waterlogged and tasteless, they were a direct hearkening to flavors reminiscent of times gone by, but not quite forgotten. I thought it was about time to try to make it from scratch myself, since I am too young to have memories of the real McCoy.

Though I have to admit, I wasn’t wearing heels, pearls or a dress; more like blue jeans and a sacrificial t-shirt since I am a messy chef— I know outrageous right?! Anyway, the subtle sweet flavors of the carrots and peas were incredibly nice with a little bit of butter on top. Completely beautiful in its simplicity,those housewives knew what they were doing and I will definitely make this again.

Peas and Carrots

Peas and Carrots
Peas and Carrots

 

  • 3 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 cups carrots, peeled and small dice
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1/2 bell pepper, finely diced
  • 1 stalk celery, finely diced
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 pound frozen baby peas, thawed
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh Italian parsley leaves
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
Heat oil in a large frying pan over medium heat. Add carrots, onion, bell pepper, celery and season with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion are translucent and soft, about 10 minutes. Add water and continue to cook until liquid evaporates and carrots are tender, about 5 to 6 minutes. Add peas and cook until heated through, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in butter and parsley, season with salt and freshly ground pepper, and serve.
15 thoughts on “Peas and Carrots

  1. This look much better then I remember my childhood peas and carrots – they are still on the TV dinner trays … glad to see that you are using frozen peas, I think they the best thing since sliced bread – fantastic product. Thanks for this classic.

    1. Thanks. Way better than the canned or tv dinner version. Peas are one of the only produce items that I will buy frozen. Though I always will prefer fresh, just because. Freezing it doesn’t bother the taste, so we are able to have fresh flavor all year which is great.

      1. A frozen green pea is a great product and … in all honesty that is the only vegetable I would NEVER buy fresh – same with herbs, I always buy frozen – because it’s much more flavor in frozen then in fresh.

  2. Extremely clever in its simplicity, and some nice subtle nuances in there – lovely recipe! Will definitely try it.

Leave a Reply

