Squash Casserole

With the days heating up, I am starting to see glimpses of summer already at the markets. To my delight, I was able to pick up zucchini and grey squash my last go round and make one of my favorite summertime dishes, squash casserole, for supper last night. This squash casserole could be consider a delicious side, but is filling enough to be a lovely vegetarian main dish option. Super simple and super delicious, enjoy!

Squash Casserole

Squash Casserole
Squash Casserole

2 cups thinly sliced and cooked yellow, zucchini or grey squash (sautéed in about 2 tbsp of olive oil)

2 slices bread toasted and crumbled

3/4 cup milk

1 cup shredded cheese (your favorite)

1 cup chopped onion

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

Pinch of sugar

3 Tbsp butter, melted

After cooking squash, place in large bowl. Add milk, cheese, and onion, and stir well. Stir in egg, salt, pepper, sugar, and butter, and pour in greased pie pan. Top with bread crumb mixture. Bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes.

16 thoughts on “Squash Casserole

  1. Can feel the smell … this goes on file – have so much in my file now .. need to throw a party. *smile .. so I can start cooking.

  2. Dang I love squash! I make something kinda like this with the egg– we don’t have any local out just yet here, though. In another month there will be so much that people will give it away ;) I have a recipe here somewhere for squash custard. It’s like dessert, but I think it’s sugar free… now I hafta find it!!

    1. I know, a lot of times the farmers will load me up with them when I buy something else, but we aren’t to that point yet here either. You hafta post about your sweet custard. Sounds delicious and interesting.

Leave a Reply

