Ranch Oyster Crackers

Ranch oyster crackers, how I love thee, let me count the ways! You are crunchy and salty… and ranch-ee… okay, I went a bit too far. These are one of those treats that my mom made for me as a little girl, so they are very nostalgic. I can still remember sitting in my pink tights on the living room floor fresh from ballet class watching Heman and She-Ra bounding around on the back of a green and orange striped cat, all the while I am munching on these little nuggets of joy and through spit stuttered sentences yelling things like, “by the power of greyskull…I have the power!”  Oh yeah, I loved She-Ra. What was not to like? She-Ra was a friggin’ bad ass, had a super cute outfit AND she owned a Pegasus/Unicorn, the coolest hybrid animal ever to grace animation. But I digress…

As I have grown older, I continue to make these oyster crackers for snacks every once and a while and everyone I give them to feel the addictive powers of the crackers tugging them in for more and more. This is one of those definites for my yearly holiday basket, as everyone loves them, even my husband’s family has asked that I make more to put in the basket, because they wait all year in anticipation of these crackers. SO if you are in need of a snacky snack, this is a winner!

Ranch Oyster Crackers

Ranch Oyster Crackers
Ranch Oyster Crackers

¾ cup salad oil (vegetable oil)

1 envelope Ranch Salad Dressing mix

½ tsp dill weed

¼ tsp lemon pepper

¼ tsp garlic powder

12 oz. plain oyster crackers

Whisk together first five ingredients. Pour over crackers. Bake at 275 for 15-20 minutes.

22 thoughts on “Ranch Oyster Crackers

  1. I LOVE these crackers. I had them so many years ago, and completely forgot about them until you reminded me. Now that you have placed the recipe (which I’ve never made) in front of me , I must, must, must make them now. Thanks for this reminder, and yes, we’ll be eating these by this weekend.

  2. I LOVE these crackers too! You can also use the same recipe, remove dill and add cayenne pepper, on pretzels!

  3. OMG…I hadn’t thought about these OR He-man in YEARS! Definitely gonna have to make these this week and see if I can find reruns on the Cartoon Network or something! Thanks for sharing!!!

  4. Let’s talk about how much I love She-Ra Princess of Freaking Power!!! Also Thundercats.
    I should probably not make these crackers in the interest of my upcoming beach trip since I am liable to eat them by the fistful… but I might make them anyway. I say rancheeee crackers are worth walking a couple extra miles :)

    1. Haha, yes I watched thundercats too. These crackers are super addictive so I wouldn’t reccomend before beach trip, BUT If you are anything like my family,(we were lucky enough to be within driving distance of the beach) and my mom packed a huge picnic basket of treats (homemade of course) and these are perfect for that.

  5. I have never heard of any of these ingredients before (apart from veg oil) maybe I live a sheltered life, although I prefer to think it’s just that I live in the UK! But i’m liking the sound of them! I was a fan of Thundercats too, Snarf, Snarf.

    1. I am thinking “ranch” flavoring is an american flavor, but that makes me even more excited for you. So worth it to try. I will have to look into researching a recipe for the dry mix for those of you that don’t have it readily available.

  6. So I did indeed get around to making these on Tuesday. JUST as I remembered (although I did toss in some extra dill). Needless to say, they were gone by Wednesday night. LOL Now I just need to track me down some She-Ra!!! ;) Thanks again for the recipe and memories!!!

  7. Reblogged this on creative noshing and commented:

    These ranch oyster crackers were the second snack that I made for my annual holiday basket this year. My husband loves these so much that we have had repurchase the ingredients for them multiple times in the past few weeks. Enjoy everyone!

Leave a Reply

