Charleston Style Grits for One

As a southern girl from the United States, I, of course, know my way around a bowl of steamy hot grits. You can even find t-shirts in tourist shops with the acronym G.R.I.T.S. used to abbreviate Girls Raised In The South.  Me and grits are friends, I woke up to them many mornings as a child. My husband, on the other hand, not so much. He wasn’t raised in the south and isn’t getting near grits, no matter how much I have tried to convince him it really is okay.

Grits, if you don’t know them, are very similar to polenta. However, they are not polenta. Polenta is made from boiling cornmeal. Grits are made from corn kernels that have been treated with an alkaline solution and then washed and dried and ground down, similar to the process for masa harina, just not ground as finely.

My husband and I had our honeymoon in Charleston, SC. The whimsical cobblestone roads and old architecture made for such a romantic getaway. While we were there, we ate at a quaint brunch spot and I had the best grits of my life there. Doing my research, I found out the Charlestonians boil their grits in milk instead of the all water method of most of the south. I was a convert. Using my preference for yellow stone ground grits and the Charleston method, I make a lovely bowl for one when the mood strikes. Enjoy!

Charleston Style Grits for One
Charleston Style Grits
Charleston Style Grits
1 serving

  • 1 cup water
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/4 cup quick cooking or old-fashioned grits (not instant!)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • optional add ins are cheese, bacon, eggs, sausage (any or all)

In a large, heavy sauce pan bring the water to a boil. Add a generous pinch of salt and the grits and stir with a wooden spoon to combine. When grits thicken add milk and butter and return to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer, cover sauce pan and cook for 45 minutes to one hour, until grits are tender, smooth and creamy. Taste and season with salt and pepper. Keep covered and warm until ready to serve.

33 thoughts on “Charleston Style Grits for One

  1. I had some decent grits in Atlanta for the first time in years and it reminded me how much i love them…but those grits didn’t hold a candle to what i see here. Yum! I want some.

  2. Had to look up grits – of course …belongs the polenta family – and after that I saw you already had explained it. That’s me going directly for the recipe and the reading afterward. Very interesting – but we don’t click *smile Charleston, are suppose to be a beautiful place – only see pictures.

      1. I hear and learn about new things every day through the blogging – fantastic. I wasn’t answer you – it Jueseppi that made fun of me. *smile

    1. Charleston is very beautiful and if you are interested in the US civil war, it is very historical. It is the most in tact southern city, the rest of them were destroyed during that war. Grits are delicious to me, I’ve even sprinkled a tiny bit of sugar in them to enhance the corn flavor, like you with the potatoes.

      1. Yes, I understand Charleston has a lot of history rooted in the civil war. Grits, how could I miss that when I was in NO ??? But on the other hand maybe I was luck who did. *smile .. no disrespect to you, Southern.

      2. Haha, now you sound like my husband. It really is okay, the grits won’t bite. If you aren’t a fan of polenta though, probably wouldn’t be your thing.

  3. Yum, had some this morning for my Mother’s Day breakfast in bed! My favorite is with a fried egg, some cheese and crumbled bacon all mixed up in the grits.

  4. I had one request on my birthday a few years back. I was in Charleston visiting a good friend, and I wanted a true Southern meal. I had shrimp and grits, and it’s one of my happiest food memories. Thanks for writing!

    1. Lol! I love the optional add ins. I watched a show about “Dixie” and all of the Southerners agreed that you had to mix in at least cheese, so you are not alone in that opinion.

Leave a Reply

