Cuban Sandwich

Today I bring you a recipe for the Cuban sandwich. One of my favorite sandwiches of all time that is readily found all over Florida. If you have taken a vacation there, you have likely tried it. Perfect to use up the last of my Cuban style pork and beer basted ham in the freezer. Packed full of flavor, truly a beautiful sandwich.

Cuban Sandwich

Cuban Sandwich
Cuban Sandwich

Sliced Cuban style pork

3/4 pound thinly sliced smoked ham

3/4 pound thinly sliced Swiss cheese

4 dill pickles, sliced

3 tbsp butter or olive oil

Cuban Loaves or any submarine style sandwich bread

Sandwich Assembly: Slice the Cuban loaves in half horizontally. Brush the cut surfaces of the rolls with olive oil or soft butter. Layer the sandwiches as follows: Swiss cheese, sliced pickle, ham, sliced roast pork, then additional cheese.

Now comes the somewhat challenging part. You want to grill these sandwiches, top and bottom, while at the same time flattening them slightly. This helps meld all of the filling ingredients. Heat two large skillets, or a grill and one skillet, to medium-hot. Lightly grease the grill and/or skillets. Place the sandwiches in the greased pan(s). Top them with a piece of parchment paper, then the remaining skillet (or flat sheet pan, or other heavy, flat, non-meltable object — the point is to weigh them down). Press down firmly on the top pan, and weigh it down.

Grill the sandwiches for 5 to 8 minutes over medium heat, checking often to make sure the bottoms aren’t burning. Adjust the heat downward if the bottoms are becoming brown after only a couple of minutes. Turn the sandwiches over and grill for several more minutes, until they’re crisp on both sides.

16 thoughts on “Cuban Sandwich

  1. It sounds yummy – like the combination of the pork and ham… I used to have a flat plate sandwich maker which would have been ideal for squishing it down… but it stopped working. I’ll be able to do it with your squishing method!

    1. Thanks. This is very yummy. Yes, I’ve had a few of those flat plate sandwich presses in my day and they are great for making these, but if you don’t have one, the other method works just as well. Just a little more effort.

  2. One of my favorite sandwiches. We used to live in Miami and when we go back to visit our family I always make sure to have one while there. The light as air Cuban bread is really what makes this so good.

      1. I am definitely gonna come by t tell ya how was it though I assure ya before even making it that IT IS GONNA BE SUPER-DELICIOUS :)
        Love.
        Naima.

  3. Ohhhh girl you know I love a Cuban pork sandwich! And I’m jealous of your pretty panini press grill marks. Also I need you to know that I’ve been reading all your posts, I just haven’t had time to leave comments! I’m way behind… forreal.

    1. Thanks. Cuban Sandwiches are great. I love my panini grill marks too. Have to get that machine out for something every now and again, so it makes up for me complaining about it being in the way. Small apartment=equals no storage. THank you for reading my posts. I really appreciate your support.

Leave a Reply

