Guacamole

This weekend, my husband and I went to a food festival. We drove a ways to get there and when we arrived we realized that it was much smaller of an event than what was advertised. We stuck around for about an  hour and decided to hit some roadside stands we spotted on the way down. Fresh cherries, strawberries, peaches, avocados, artichokes, etc… The roadside stands were awesome. Placing our wares in the back of our car, we decided to take the long road home, driving up the coast to see all of the pretty vistas. A perfectly warm weekend. We got home and put some of avocados to use with this fresh tasting guacamole. Enjoy!

Guacamole

Guacamole
Guacamole

1 medium avocado

1/4 cup onion

1/2 jalapeno or 2 Tbsp bell pepper, chopped, ribs and seeds removed

2 Tbsp cilantro, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

juice of lime

salt and pepper to taste

Cut avocado in half and remove pit. Scoop pulp out into a bowl. Using a fork, mash avocado until smooth in consistency. Add the juice of half a lime first to keep the avocado from turning brown. Add onion, jalapeno, cilantro, and garlic.  Add salt and pepper gradually, until the dip tastes well balanced.

21 thoughts on “Guacamole

      1. You have the most amazingly delicious recipes. Your family are blessed to have such a terrific mom and wife. Thank you and continue to post, I and my few followers love your post.

  1. I absolutely love buying produce off the side of the road. It’s the BEST. When I make guacamole, I usually make pico (with jalapenos, of course) first and the mix that with my avacado & lime. It’s good but takes more time (to dice a billion tomatoes and red onions). I think I will try it your way next time… spicier AND faster!

    1. THanks, oh yeah, I love to throw in some tomatoes every once and a while, but I haven’t seen any really good tomatoes just yet. Although they are on the horizon and I am super excited about that.

  2. Delish! I love fresh guacamole and wish I could grow avocados in Kentucky! Roadside stands, a great slice of Americana. Isn’t it so much more exciting to buy off the side of the road than from the sterile aisles and bins of a supermarket?!

    1. Oh yeah, I saw those suckers on the way in and was like I am sooo there on the way back. The fruit and vegetables taste better from the roadside stands. Of course, you have to love that!

Leave a Reply

