Ham and Broccoli Hash Brown Casserole

Casseroles are one of the best ways to use up leftovers from the week. Last week, I had some ham and broccoli lingering in my refrigerator, waiting to be used. Adding these ingredients to my basic hash brown casserole recipe made for a delicious mid week meal. The ham and broccoli really mixed well with the cheesy potato mixture. Because I love ham and broccoli, these would be items in my refrigerator this time of year. However, this recipe is so versatile, you could omit the ham and broccoli and have a wonderful vegetarian main dish or delicious side, or you could substitute the ham and broccoli for other items in your refrigerator. The possibilities really are endless.

Ham and Broccoli Hash Brown Casserole

Ham and Broccoli Hash Brown Casserole
Ham and Broccoli Hash Brown Casserole

1 (26 ounce) bag frozen country style hash browns

2 cups shredded Colby cheese

¼ cup minced onion

1 cup broccoli, chopped

1 cup ham, chopped

1 cup milk

½ cup stock

2 tbsp butter, melted

Dash garlic powder

1tsp salt

¼ tsp ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Combine the frozen hash browns, cheese, onion, ham, and broccoli in large bowl. Combine the milk, stock, half the melted butter, the garlic powder, salt, and black pepper in another bowl. Mix until well blended then pour over the hash browns and mix well. Heat the remaining butter in a large, oven proof skillet over high heat. When the skillet is hot, spoon in the hash brown mixture. Cook the hash browns, stirring occasionally until hot and all of the cheese has melted (about 7 minutes). Put the skillet into the oven and bake for 45- 60 minutes or until the surface of the hash browns is dark brown.

If your skillet isn’t oven proof, you can spoon the potatoes into a glass 9×9 inch baking dish and microwave until they are hot and cheese has melted. Put into 425 degree oven and bake until surface is brown.

27 thoughts on “Ham and Broccoli Hash Brown Casserole

    1. Thanks. It would be a good camp breakfast. If I cooked over a fire, I would probably cover the casserole up with aluminum foil or a fire proof top until the very end, because fire will wick away the moisture in the casserole and you would want it to stay creamy.

      1. Ya, unfortunately Betty (our trailer) has no oven, so it would be either a skillet situation or the fire. I actually have yet to cook any type of food on the fire itself except grilling meat or veggies… hmmm….

      2. You would either need one of those cooking tripods or the platformed cooking grates and fire resistant cookware, like cast iron to cook over the open flame.

    1. Thanks. It would be a great breakfast. Shred the potatoes on the largest holes on the grater. Then dry them out a bit by squeezing as much excess water out of them as possible. I do this by wrapping them in a clean kitchen towel and wringing it as hard as possible. Then you are ready to go as normal with the recipe.

  1. Ohhhh a cass!
    That’s your word and I totally just pinged it right back at you. I love hash brown casserole. And you know what works really well in a hashbrown casserole? Leftover baked or roasted potatoes, shredded, skins and all. It’s my favorite I think :)

    1. Thanks. Glad to hear you may try. You could leave the ham out all together or fry up some bacon and crumble that in, for a delicious spin. It’s your world, make this dish to your liking. This is just a basic recipe, I love to hear how people get creative and make it their own. If your taste buds don’t like something, don’t put it in, put in what you love and I promise you won’t be disappointed.

      1. I kinda like doing it the way your recipe calls for. I am not a big ham fan but I don’t hate ham. I try to reserve my pork intake for ribs and bacon. I LOVE LOVE LOVE ribs and bacon. Thank you so much Ms. CreativeNoshing.

  2. This smell very nice …. and the color of it – easy to make and … me how love spuds in any form and shape. Worth a try … *smile – anything you do … tickle me.

  3. As usual your recipes are awesome….I feel you need to put them into a book….you have the creative part of cooking down in a very natural way:) Your recipes are easy to follow and they are do-able for the ding dong cook as in me:) Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

