Chicago Dog

This past week has been hard for me, I have to admit. As with most holidays since I started moving around, Memorial Day came and I would wish that we had a whole gaggle of friends and family to join in with the celebration somewhere.

The truth of the matter is moving around is hard in general, but even the greatest relationships wane between family and friends once you move away from each other. With my grandmother’s passing, it only made the sting of not only our reality in our new home, but my reality back “home” is forever altered too.  No longer will there be a family get together at my grandmother’s home and well, I started to feel sorry for myself. I know, this is not the glamorous attitude to have, but for better or worse, these were my real emotions.

On the other flip of the coin, I wouldn’t want to miss the experiences that I have had so far, venturing out into the great wide open to see what adventure awaits. When we lived in the Midwestern part of the country, we spent some time in Chicago, Illinois, a beautiful city full of a food culture all it’s own. One foodie item that I tried while there was the Chicago dog, a hot dog, loaded with toppings that give it a very specific taste; tart, spicy, and fresh. Sometimes, I have to remind myself of these unique experiences that I wouldn’t want to miss out on! Enjoy!

Chicago Dog

Chicago Dog
Chicago Dog

  • 1 all-beef hot dog, Vienna preferably
  • 1 poppyseed hot dog bun, (these aren’t available, so we steamed the bun with poppy seeds.)
  • 1 tablespoon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon sweet green pickle relish
  • 1 tablespoon chopped onion
  • 4 tomato wedges
  • 1 dill pickle spear
  • 2 sport peppers
  • 1 dash celery salt
 Directions
  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Reduce heat to low, place hot dog in water, and cook 5 minutes or until done. Remove hot dog and set aside. Carefully place a steamer basket into the pot and steam the hot dog bun 2 minutes or until warm.
  2. Place hot dog in the steamed bun. Pile on the toppings.
16 thoughts on “Chicago Dog

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Thank you “CreativeNoshing” for this recipe. The only change I make when making these hot dogs is neon green pickle relish must be used to be a real Chicago Dog. I grew up in Hyde Park Chicago eating these every week.

  2. Grew up and spent most of my adult life in Chicago, too. Jueseppi beat me to it – relish needs to be nuclear waste-colored. Also, in looking at picture it looks like you have dijon or brown mustard on it. I don’t know if there’s a standard on this, but I think it should be plain yellow mustard.

  3. Sorry about how you feel with the loss of your grandma’. Not easy losing someone you love. And- although the family gatherings are still nice – just not the same as we lose our family members.
    CHICAGO STYLE HOT DOG – IMO – The best dog out there. LOVE IT!

  4. Sorry, to read that you have a bit of rough time just now and it’s okay to feel sorry for yourself too – if we can’t feel sorry for ourselves – we can’t feel sorry for others.
    Thanks … wouldn’t mind one of them – will have a couple in a months time .. when I’m in Chicago – there I have gherkin relish – that we call “gurkmix”

    1. Yes, I am feeling better today. Thanks for the words of encouragement. Have you ever been to Chicago before? If I were to go there for the first time, I would eat a chicago dog, italian beef sandwich and a deep dish pizza. If you want a really nice sit down dinner try to get reservations at Charlie Trotters restaurant.

Leave a Reply

