Creamy Cole Slaw

On Memorial Day, Hubbie and I smoked some ribs and served baked beans and cole slaw along side them. Not having a smoker anymore, we gave it a good college try and make-shifted a community charcoal grill into a smoker. On second thought, probably not the best idea to smoke any meats for a long period of time in an apartment complex. I am sure folks were looking at us like THOSE neighbors, you know the ones that would put their cars on blocks or don’t cut their grass for a month and walk around completely oblivious. Heathens, I tell ya!

I can’t help it, smoked meats are one of my downfalls. Anyway, the ribs were good, considering the limitations, but probably won’t do it again until we aren’t renting anymore.  Oh well, more reason to get out there and hit up some BBQ joints in the area. This is my favorite cole slaw recipe. It’s creamy and sweet and tart, with just enough crunch from the slaw to give it a nice bite. Enjoy!

Creamy Cole Slaw

Ribs with Baked Beans and Creamy Cole Slaw
Ribs with Baked Beans and Creamy Cole Slaw

8 cups very finely chopped cabbage (1 head)

¼ cup shredded carrot (1 medium carrot)

1/3 cup granulated sugar

½ tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 ½ tbsp white vinegar

2 ½ tbsp lemon juice

Combine sugar, salt, pepper, mayo, buttermilk, vinegar, and lemon juice, and beat until smooth. Add cabbage and carrots. Mix Well. Cover and refrigerate for at least two hours before serving.

10 thoughts on “Creamy Cole Slaw

  1. I think they were just looking at “those” neighbors (YOU), smelling heaven and wishing for a way to get to know you and be invited for dinner! I’d be right at your door with some baked good ready to share.

    1. Haha, thanks. I would like to think maybe they were salivating over food. We live in a very health conscious area. Just to be able to live in our apartments, we signed a contract that said we wouldn’t smoke within 100 feet of the complex. We aren’t cigarette smokers, so we had no problem with that rule. When we were out there though, I wondered if perhaps this was infringing on those rules.

  2. That’s the way I do mine .. too – except for the milk. Had spare ribs last night too – but no coleslaw and I missed it. Forgotten I could had baked beans with it. Great idea for next time, thanks.

  3. Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site …http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

