Sherry Vinaigrette

My husband knows my passion for new sauces and dressings, so the other night he brought home a bottle of sherry vinegar. It couldn’t be at a better time either, because we start receiving our CSA boxes this week that I signed up for a few weeks ago. Of course, I am super excited about that. Keeping up with all the fresh produce will hopefully keep my eye on the prize with my health, plus give me material for sharing recipes with you guys.

I have never worked with sherry vinegar before, so I adapted a recipe from Giada De Laurentis. The sherry vinegar is so nice and the best part, to me, is it is sweet enough that it isn’t absolutely critical to add sugar or honey to the vinaigrette. I have a pretty gnarly sweet tooth, so this is a very good thing when I am watching my health. Anyway, enjoy everyone!

Sherry Vinaigrette

Early Summer Salad with Feta and SHerry Vinaigrette
Early Summer Salad with Feta and SHerry Vinaigrette

  • 1/3 cup sherry vinegar
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon salt, plus more for seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus more for seasoning
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

In a small bowl, whisk all of the ingredients together.

12 thoughts on “Sherry Vinaigrette

    1. Great question, thanks for asking. CSA stands for community supported agriculture, it’s a great way to support your local farmer or farmers. Basically, a group of farmers that grow organic produce in the community provide fresh product to one cooperative that puts the parcels together into a box and delivers them to the customers door or a designated drop off point. It is great for me since I live in an apartment complex and don’t have access to growing my own food.

      1. That is so cool. We have a farmers market here year round that is close to that. Beautiful produce & vegetation for sale from local growers. Delicious items such as baked good as well.

  1. Like the dressing .. and this with the boxes – very intersting. We have food delivery carry bag for about $38 per week and contains 5 full dinners for 4 person and comes with recipes – very good value and great recipes too. Nothing complicate. Contains meat, vegetables and dry gods.

  2. The “sweet-factor” is the reason I love red wine vinegar (fyi: I bought pomegranate red wine vinegar last week and it is crazy good) – it’s a little sweet and a little tart. I’ll have to try the sherry vinegar.
    P.S. I made your poppy seed dressing last week and Chad was actually trying to lick the bowl.

Leave a Reply

