Grilled Tri-Tip

Today, I have had some revelations, so please bear with me. There’s a great recipe for Tri-tip at the end, I promise!

As I was completing my morning set of sprints on the elliptical (I still can’t shake the fact that sprints on an elliptical makes me look like a fool, especially when you have a heavy breathing weight lifter within feet of you); the thought crossed my mind that I am home. Meaning, this head space, this moment, where I live is my home and where I came from, where I grew up is just a memory. I guess I had never really thought of my life like that before, always feeling I lived in a place other than my home, always trying to return to a place that doesn’t exist anymore.

 I have had a hard time grasping this reality since my father passed right before my wedding years ago and then my grandmother’s passing just recently, returning “home” just isn’t the same. And it’s just not that aspect, people move away, people change, including me and when I return, not only do I want things to be the same, but I feel pressured to be exactly the same person I was when I was 18 years old. Though it would be impossible for me to stay shelved in an unaltered state while also going to college, moving around the country, seeing new things, meeting new people, I beat myself up because I can’t fit in that mold anymore. I guess I have finally come to the point that I accept that we are all growing, some of us growing towards each other, others of us apart. It’s part of life and I can’t control anyone else’s trajectory and I shouldn’t give anyone the power to control my trajectory nor my peace of mind on my path.
As of today, I threw it to the wind, I am free to enjoy my life, my home, no matter where that may be with no guilt and nothing holding me back.  I mean who would want to miss out on this life, especially when we’ve cooked up something like Tri-tip. Pure meaty, beefy deliciousness, I say! My first dance with this cut of beef was when I moved to the west coast. Cut into thin strips, this beef is so versatile that it is great on a sandwich or served along with any of your favorite sides. Sincerely, I open my door to you, welcome to my home, finally!

Grilled Tri-Tip

Sandwich made with Grilled Tri-Tip served with Asian Green Bean Salad
Sandwich made with Grilled Tri-Tip served with Asian Green Bean Salad

 

  • 1/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 olive oil
  • 2 TBSP white sugar
  • 2 TBSP soy sauce
  • 2 TBSP black pepper
  • 2 TBSP garlic powder
  • 2 TBSP chopped garlic
  • 2 TBSP chopped dried onions
  • 1 tsp lemon pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 (2-pound) tri-tip, trimmed

To make the marinade, mix all of the ingredients except for the beef in a large mixing bowl. Place the trimmed tri-tips in a plastic container and pour the marinade over. Let stand in the refrigerator for at least 6 hours.

Heat grill to medium temperature.

Place tri-tips on grill at a 45 degree angle to establish grill marks and cook about 35 minutes, or until cooked to desired doneness. Remove the tri-tips from the grill and let rest about 2 to 5 minutes before slicing. Serve with your favorite side dishes.

22 thoughts on “Grilled Tri-Tip

  1. Good for you on your realization and yumm-oh on the tri-tip recipe. (And I know what you mean about the elliptical; I too looked the fool this morning as I sprinted the last quarter mile of my routine. However, I have long been at the place in my life where it really doesn’t bother me what anyone thinks abou.t how I look when I exercise. Unless they choose to share their thoughts with me (I had a geriatric stalker try to hit on me once. My consolation was I knew I could outrun the octogenarian if it came to that ;-)
    Terry

  2. I know what you mean about home being where you are… I’m getting there. For so long home was wherever my mom is. My parents lost the house we grew up in and moved down the road; the location change never made going there feel less like home. The loss of my dad made us all gasp for air… and then appreciate each other that much more. And going to mom’s still felt like going home. A few years after that my mom remarried and moved. Her house doesn’t feel like home anymore. At all. We all spread out a little bit (my sisters, brothers, and I). I had have had to make do with home being wherever I am and still often I feel kind of lost. Orphaned even.
    Good, good, good for you getting your head into such a good place. Love the recipe :)

    1. I feel you and totally understand your feelings about things. Coming from a family of divorce, I have experienced the dating mother moving into a new family scenario and that is hard for any child no matter how old you may be when that happens. You want to be happy for her, but you also want to feel included and necessary and special and it is so darn hard not to keep score. Believe me, I get it.

  3. Whoa thank you! We bought a Traeger a month ago and want to do a tri-tip…if you have not heard of Traegers…it is absolutely heaven for grilling…uses wood pellets and is manufactured in Oregon…many have not heard of it but I kid you not it is the ultimate in grilling pleasures. We bought a great gas b-q four years ago and then we found out about Traegers…had to suffer through until this year…google it:) and buy it:) You can not go wrong…we did a take and bake pizza the other night on it and ohhh heaven:) We have done salmon, beef steak cut thick…ribs….pork chops and chicken…shrimp….lots of veggies…and so very very good!

  4. Thoughts and revelations well stated and taken to heart. I sometimes envy people who feel that sense of being home. It comes and goes with me. In hopes of growing spiritually, I try to honestly look out the internal vs external factors. Not easy. But you’ve made a leap. congratulations to you.
    On a culinary note…
    I love tri-tips- flavorful and often affordable :-)

    1. Thanks. Yes, I don’t think I ever truly felt at home until that moment. It was like holy crap, what am I doing here moping around in this awesome place, living this amazing life that me and my husband have worked hard for. I had to come home inside of myself and rest easy knowing we got this and its all going to be okay even if our families don’t understand our choices.

    1. Great question. Thanks. Tripe is the stomach of a cow, I believe. Tri-tip is a bottom loin, which means it comes from an area right above the flank but below the tenderloin, It is abutted on the sides by the round and short loin. What does all of this mean? It is a cut of meat that a little tougher but not too tough, a little fatty but not too fatty. Cooked at medium temperature for a medium amount of time, you end up with a perfectly cooked, tender piece of meat. Delicious!

      1. Thank you! I know the cut you mean now – I can have a go at the recipe now! Oh and by the way, I like tripe – do you? Have you ever tried the French dish tripes á la mode du Caen? Delicious!

      2. I have never cooked with or tried tripe before. They sold tripe in my hometown though, because there were some old school African dishes that use it. I wouldn’t be opposed to trying it, I just haven’t had the chance yet. I will keep my eyes out for the French dish. I love trying new things.

  5. Love the look of that sandwich – tri-tip … wonderful name
    “As of today, I threw it to the wind, I am free to enjoy my life, my home, no matter where that may be with no guilt and nothing holding me back. ” – this really talks to me … that sounds like you have grown into yourself and have found your heart and soul in yourself and not in the place where you live. That’s all that matters really. A home you can create absolutely everywhere and if you are at home with yourself – you will be happy.

  6. I understand what you mean about home…even though I live in the house I grew up in with lots of great memories….it is not the same as when my parents were both alive. They lived here in this house until 1980 when they told me it was my turn to live in the old house….WB and I then raised our kids here with my parents next door. They built a modular one story home next door…so I could look out my window and see their home etc. I lost them both within a year of each other…it was very hard for me to look out the window to their home and not see lights on at night or see them moving about. Being an only child they were a huge part of my home….their presence was truly home not the house. It was a tough few years for me to work through the grief of loosing them. That was in 1997 and 1998….I still do not care for holidays as it is not the same at all…often WB and I are alone with many memories. Since then my hubby lost his Dad too. Home to me is more the people and being to hug them and talk to them. It was the same with my Grandma’s house that we always visited each summer…after she was gone the house was not the same either….it smelled like her and I loved the sounds of her mantle clock but I missed her presence. Sorry this is so wordy….that is just me with all those 10 million words my hubby says I say everyday! I applaud you that you have found your freedom and that you are growing into who you are….enjoying your life and being you:) I understand that part too….I had to do that as well before I lost my folks….that part was hard with them right next door…once we grow up and leave the next we need to find our way….and live our life:):):) Its ok for you and your hubby to have your own set of rules a part from your family and his:)

    1. I don’t mind the wordiness, I am wordy too! I totally understand what you are talking about with the clocks and the smell of a home. My grandmother used to make something called chewy bread, very similar thing to blondies and all of us grandchildren loved it. I have tried to make it since but the things had a taste of her house on them and I can’t replicate that. Home is definitely a feeling and not a physical structure and it is hard when you look to others to provide that sense of groundedness and they can’t provide that for you because they are unavailable for whatever reason.

    1. Thanks. I am honored. It has been a long journey with so much more to go, but it so nice that I have support from people like you who reach out and give your stamp of approval. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

