Asian Green Bean Salad

Green beans are definitely one of my favorite foods that I wait to get fresh all year. Fresh picked green beans have an earthy sweetness that are absolutely magnificent. It reminds me of wearing sundresses barefoot in the garden with my dad, picking the low hung beans from the trellis that my dad welded together just for his crawling veggies and fruits. Dad called them pole beans, grandma called them string beans, but all I know is I love them.

Really you could serve green beans freshly steamed with a little sprinkle of salt and I would be in heaven, but of course I would have a few recipes up my sleeve for these guys. So enjoy the following recipe that I used to make at a cafe that I worked at years ago. It’s super simple, super quick, super cheap and super good!

Asian Green Bean Salad

Asian Green Bean Salad
Asian Green Bean Salad

1 lb whole green beans, removing and remaining hard stems

¼ cup soy sauce

½ tsp grated fresh ginger

2 tsp clover honey

1 small clove garlic, minced

4-6 drops sesame oil

1 tbsp sesame seeds (preferably black)

In a large stock pot boil approx. 2 quarts of water. Add green beans and boil 3-5 minutes. Pour into colander and dump ice on top to shock. Run water over iced beans to completely stop cooking process. In a small bowl mix the remaining ingredients. Once the beans feel cool to the touch, place them in a large bowl and pour soy sauce mixture on top. Stir and serve. Refrigerate.

15 thoughts on “Asian Green Bean Salad

    1. Thank you. Sometimes I wish I could import the earthy damp smell of my Dad’s garden full of fresh fruit and veggies and the hot hot sun warming my back. Wearing a floppy hat because I used to have super long hair that our geese liked to peck strands of. I woyld risk it for my Dad’s veggies though!

Leave a Reply

