Peachberry Pie

As you all know, I am a girl from the southern part of the United States, which makes peaches near and dear to my heart. The month of June brings out the strongest yearning for fresh juicy peaches in the hot sunshine. Yummy. This pie is one of my favorite ways to cook with peaches.

Peachberry Pie

Peachberry Pie
Peachberry Pie

2 Pie Doughs

4 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup raspberry jam

4 cups peaches, peeled and sliced

1 cup raspberries

grated lemon peel from 1/2 lemon

1 tsp lemon juice

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup corn starch

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

 

Preheat oven to 425°.

Carefully place one of the crusts onto a 9-inch pie plate. In a small saucepan, melt butter and raspberry jam over low heat.

In a large bowl, add the peaches, raspberries, lemon peel and lemon juice. Add the sugar, cornstarch, salt and cinnamon. Stir until fruit is well coated. Pour the raspberry butter sauce over the fruit. Stir until well combined. Pour fruit mixture into pie crust. Roll out second disk of dough, as before. Gently place onto the top of the filling in the pie. Pinch top and bottom of dough rounds firmly together. Flute edges using thumb and forefinger or press with a fork. Score the top of the pie with four 2-inch long cuts, so that steam from the cooking pie can escape.

Bake for 10 minutes. Lower temperature to 350° and bake for 40 minutes more.

30 thoughts on “Peachberry Pie

  1. This is really summer for me – not much outside .. but at least I have it here with you. Not a pie lover – but I love a good crumble. Had too many bad pie pastry in UK – so they spoiled it for me. Reading your recipe brings the summer into my study.

    1. Thanks. Glad I could bring the summer in for you. Yep, there is not much worse than bad pie pastry. It has to have that toasted browned flavor with the light flaky crunch all over, no soggy bottoms or that will just ruin the whole experience. I totally hear you.

    1. Awesome. So glad to hear you will try. You will have to let me know your experience. Remember to let it cool down before you slice into it or you’ll have what we call a juicy lucy–though I admit, I still love a juicy lucy every now and again.

  2. My grandmother made pastry that actually did melt in your mouth. She used to tell me it was so simply and when I make mine you need a chain saw. Not a baker. I can perform the basic desserts but give me the task of making a pie shell people run screaming from the room. Once I made one that permanently adhered to our breadboard and we had to throw it out. Yours, however, looks magnificent.

    1. The recipe for pie dough is simple ingredients, the technique takes practice. Sounds like your dough got too warm. I will freeze the flour with the fats cut up into it the night before, then spin it real quick in a processer with the water and lemon juice. After that I put it in the fridge to chill for atleast an hour, then I work with it.

Leave a Reply

